Trans Am introduces new prize pool for 2024

The National Trans Am Series has introduced a special Pole Award for the 2024 season, with each winner to receive a financial reward.

At each of this year’s seven rounds, the fastest driver from qualifying will now earn the Trans Am Pole Award, along with the $1000 prize.

The Trans Am Pole Award will be first awarded at the series’ season opener at Race Sandown next month, the first of seven rounds.

Purchase tickets for Race Sandown via motorsporttickets.com.au

In addition to the Trans Am Pole Award, the series will also reward the outright and class winners at the end of the season, with the 2024 champion to receive a free series entry for the 2025 season.

The winner of the newly created Pro-Am class will enjoy free entry to the first three rounds of the 2025 season, while the final top three in the Hoosier Young Gun competition will receive six free tyres per round next year.

Photos: Race Project

“The prizes on offer are a fantastic reward for the drivers who are able to deliver across the season,” Trans Am Category Manager Graham Sattler said.

“We’re particularly excited to introduce the Pole Award for this season. Our qualifying sessions have always been extremely exciting, and as we saw in 2023, they’ve offered up a great deal of unpredictability.

“To have that prize for the fastest qualifier should be a nice incentive for drivers to give that extra 10 per cent.

“The drivers and teams are working hard for round one, and we should have a great field at Sandown, a good mix of youth and experience for one of the most exciting categories in the country.”

Tickets for Race Sandown are still available and can be purchased via motorsporttickets.com.au.

The National Trans Am Series will also feature in the jam-packed 7plus broadcast, while select races will be shown free-to-air on the Seven Network throughout the year.

The opening round of the Shannons SpeedSeries’, Race Sandown takes place on 9-11 February.