TCR welcome solid field for Sandown season opener

The entry list for the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series’ season opener at Race Sandown has been released with 15 cars confirmed for the round.

The series’ off season proved quite eventful as drivers switched teams and a number of new faces and teams joined the category.

Of course there was also plenty of stability up and down the field, as plenty of partnerships were renewed in readiness of the 2024 season, including that of reigning champion Josh Buchan and HMO Customer Racing.

Get tickets for Race Sandown via motorsporttickets.com.au

Although Buchan will be back to defend his title in the Hyundai, his former teammate Bailey Sweeney has been replaced by UK star Tom Oliphant, who made the switch from Ashley Seward Motorsport.

Ashley Seward Motorsport has yet to replace Oliphant but is likely to do so before the season opener this weekend,

Clay Richards was the other big change in the off season, joining Melbourne Performance Centre’s Carl Cox Motorsport’s Cupra entry.

Outside of the movers and shakers, the opening round of the season will also see a team debut with 99motorsport to line up for their maiden season in TCR.

Behind the wheel of the team’s Audi RS3 LMS will be team owner Marcus LaDelle, who makes his series debut at the same time.

LaDelle is one of three drivers to debut in the series, with Indonesian star Glenn Nirwan to join Zac Soutar at the expanded Tufflift Racing, while Toyota 86 Champion Ryan Casha joins Garry Rogers Motorsport with Aaron Cameron, Ben Bargwanna and Jordan Cox.

There is no personnel change in the Wall Racing stable with 2022 champion Tony D’Alberto leading the way with Brad and Will Harris also racing. Both D’Alberto and Brad will be racing a Honda Civic Type R FL5, while Will will run the older-generation Honda Civic FK7 TCR.

Rounding out the entry list is Iain McDougall, who will be campaigning the Challenge Motorsport Audi.

View the entry list.

The 2024 Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series season gets underway at the Shannons SpeedSeries’ first event of the year, Race Sandown.

Get tickets for the Shannons SpeedSeries season opener.

All seven rounds of TCR will be broadcast live and free via the Seven Network, with every race to form part of the jam-packed 7plus stream, while select races will be shown on free-to-air television.

Sign up for a free 7plus account.

Race Sandown takes place at Sandown International Raceway on 9-11 February.

Photo: Race Project