Sydney Motorsport Park 2022: Sunday wrap

A huge Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships round at Sydney Motorsport Park has come to an end, with 16,671 spectators across three days enjoying some epic racing.

Here’s how the categories finished up after another busy day.

Radical Cup Australia
Bing Technologies’ Chris Perinin has narrowly edged out First Focus’ Peter Paddon and Peter Carr, taking the Radical round win by just two points.

Perini’s race victory on Saturday made the difference, with Paddon and Carr enjoying a consistent weekend with a second and third across the two races.

While Perini only finished Sunday’s race in fourth, he had done enough to win the round.

Radicals next round will take place at Queensland Raceway, joining the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships return to the sunshine state in August.

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series
Nathan Morcom won Sunday’s final race of the weekend, making it a HMO Customer Racing one-two, with teammate Josh Buchan in second.

Jordan Cox rounded out Sunday’s final race podium.

Earlier in the day, AWC MPC Racing’s Jay Hanson secured victory in the reverse grid race, steering his Audi RS to a memorable win over Moutai/Zip Pay’s Luke King.

Morcom also featured in Sunday morning’s race, leaving Sydney Motorsport Park with the most points of any driver.

Honda Wall Racing’s Tony D’Alberto leaves Sydney with his Series lead still in tact, ahead of Schaeffler GRM’s Dylan O’Keefe and Buchan.

TCR’s next outing is again part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships, with the category next racing at Queensland Raceway on 5-7 August.

Photos: Speed Shots Photography

Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge
Team Porsche New Zealand’s Ryan Wood’s near perfect weekend saw the Queenslander enjoy a round win.

Two race wins and a second place saw him take the victory over Tegra Australia’s Thomas Sargent.

Sargent claimed a race win of his own in Sunday’s final encounter, backing up his two second place finishes.

It was a seven point differential between the pair, with Wood standing on the top step of the podium.

Rounding out the podium was Sonic Motor Racing’s Courtney Prince who finished each of the three races in third – a consistent weekend rewarded with a worthy podium.

Phillip Island plays host to the next round of the Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge, part of the Shannons event on 24-26 June.

S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship
Alabar/Form 700’s Joey Mawson claimed the round win at Sydney as he looks towards claiming another Motorsport Australia Gold Star.

The 2021 Gold Star recipient was on song at SMSP, claiming 100 points across qualifying and three races, including a race one victory on Saturday.

Sunday’s feature race was won by Team Valvoline’s Aaron Cameron, who himself could have been on for a round win, had he not been involved in an opening lap incident in the category’s second race of the weekend through no fault of his own.

UCS Group Racing’s Tim Macrow rounded out the weekend’s podium, ahead of Team Valvoline’s James Golding and Nippy’s Blake Purdie in fifth.

The next round of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship takes place at Hidden Valley Raceway, part of the Supercars’ visit to the Northern Territory on 17-19 June.

Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters
In the Pro Am class, Anglomoil Superior Lubricant’s Cameron Tilley has taken his Valiant Pacer to a round win in Sydney.

G&V Earthmoving’s Jamie Tilley claimed second, while Motorsport Parts Australia’s Gerard McLeod claimed third in Pro Am.

In the Pro Masters, Rare Spares’ John Bowe put in a dominant performance across the weekend, three race wins from three in class and 200 points to his name across the four different races.

The only entrant in Pro Sport, The Lighthouse Hotel’s Peter Burnitt secured maximum points in class in his Holden Torana.

TCM head to Townsville for their next event, as part of the Supercars Championship on 8-10 July.

Turtle Wax Trans Am Series
Owen Kelly has capitalised on a poor weekend from title rival Nathan Herne, edging out Ben Grice for the round win.

It was a Ford Mustang 1-2-3 on the overall podium, with Series debutant Zach Bates impressing throughout the two days of racing.

Nathan Herne’s trouble started on Saturday night in the category’s second race – a drive belt failure resulting in a DNF and zero points. Herne did recover well to claim second place in Sunday’s only race, behind Kelly.

Trans Am will return to the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships bill with a visit to Queensland Raceway its next event on 5-7 August.

GC Marine Australian Prototype Series
It was a perfect Sunday for Jam Motorsport’s John Paul Drake as he claimed his first ever GC Marine Australian Prototypes Series round win.

Drake won the third and final race ahead of Ready Set Reline’s Ryan Godfrey, the pair enjoying an epic battle in the dying stages of the race.

It was a solid Series debut for Praga Racing ANZ’s Ricky Capo, who finished yet another race on the podium – third in Sunday’s final hit out and second outright for the round.

The APS will next visit Phillip Island as part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships on 24-26 June.

Australian Production Cars
Go-Karts-Go Drew Russell, Aaren Russell and Wayne Russell stood on the top step of the podium courtesy of a clean sweep of race wins.

The trio starred throughout the Sydney Motorsport Park weekend, including winning Sunday morning’s 300km endurance race in their BMW M3.

It was yet another BMW dominated podium, with Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey in second for the weekend. Rounding out the podium was Anthony Soole and Adam Wright.

Australian Production Cars return in just under one month’s time, part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships at Phillip Island on 24-26 June.

Tickets for the next round of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships at Phillip Island can be purchased here.