Sunday wrap: Winton

CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship 

Jayden Ojeda has won his third CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship round of 2018, with two race victories today at Winton.

After a difficult day yesterday as part of Round 4 of the championship, Ojeda has now found himself with a 21-point lead after Sunday’s Round 5

Team BRM’s Aaron Love returned to the podium with second place, on a day where he also clinched his first F4 race victory in today’s second race.

Saturday’s Round 4 winner Ryan Suhle was content with third on the podium and has now found himself second in the championship hunt.

Fourth for the round was Cameron Shields, ahead of the best rookie of Lochie Hughes in fifth.

Zayd Tones was sixth, ahead of Antonio Astuti, Jackson Walls, Josh Smith and Thomas Smith rounding out the top 10 for the round.

The CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship will now prepare for its penultimate round at Sydney Motorsport Park on 21-23 September.

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia 

Cooper Murray regained the series lead following two impressive race wins today, while teammates Marcel Zalloua and Sergio Pires took Pro-Am and Class B honours.

Murray was quick to retake the top spot in the series standings with victory in Sunday morning’s Race 2, holding off Fallon in the 12-lap race, with Jimmy Vernon and Max Vidau providing an entertaining battle for third.

Race 3 also went to Murray, beating Fallon to the chequered flag and extending his series lead in both the overall and Pro class standings.

The result handed Murray first for the round from Fallon and Vernon in third.

Winton marked the fifth different ProAm winner from five rounds, thanks to Zalloua’s round win this weekend.

Zalloua was joined on the Pro-Am podium by second placed Michael Hovey and Michael Loccisano in third.

Young gun Christian Pancione was the dominant Class B driver across Sunday’s two races, however a race one DNF removed his hopes for a podium result for the round.

Pires followed his Saturday class win with two second place Class B results on Sunday to win the round from Andrew Goldie and Phil Morriss.

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia returns for the final round of its 2018 season later this month at Sydney Motorsport Park on 21-22 September.

CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series

Nick Kelly has claimed the 2018 CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series title, after a nail-biting finale at Winton.

The Audi driver topped both qualifying sessions to start Race 1 from pole, shadowing Scott Taylor to the flag to move within touching distance of a maiden title.

Title rival Matt Stoupas then charged through to win Race 2 from Dave Stevens.

A conservative drive from Kelly saw him finish fifth, a result that confirmed him as the 2018 title winner.

Two consistent performances from Chris and Luke Seidler saw the father-and-son duo bring their Seidler Group Porsche home sixth in both races.

Australian GT will now prepare for their next event as part of the CAMS Australian GT Championship and the CAMS Australian Endurance Championship, heading to Hampton Downs in New Zealand on 13-14 October.

Jacuzzi Spas Australian Production Car Series 

Grant Denyer and Tony D’Alberto have injected life into their Jacuzzi Spas Australian Production Car Series tilt, backing up their Saturday race victory with a repeat win today’s two-hour race at Winton.

After narrowly winning Saturday’s race, the Lotus dominated in perfect conditions on Sunday to Jim Pollicina and Ryan Simpson in second.

Denyer started the race from pole position and immediately set an early lead, with the margin nearing one minute as the race reached half-distance.

Pollicina spent much of the first half of the race defending his position from Grant Sherrin’s BMW M4 and a fired-up Tim Leahey—who aboard Beric Lynton’s BMW M3 had stormed from the back of the field and into the top five in the opening laps.

With Simpson flying home, the Simply Sports Cars team elected to not change drivers when they stopped with 30-minutes to go, saving time by keeping Denyer behind the wheel for the final stint. Regulations ensure both drivers in each car will score full points as long as both have driven in race conditions at some point across the weekend, meaning D’Alberto will score the same as Denyer despite sitting out today’s race.

Alford’s no-stop strategy saw him leapfrog Grant and Iain Sherrin for third, after the  BMW M4 stopped for their driver change in the second hour.

The Class B1 battle was tightly fought, with James Keene and Dominic Martens edging home in front of Scott Turner and Rob Rubis.

Bouncing back from turbo failure yesterday, Blake and Kyle Aubin took out Class C while Cem Yucel and Harley Haber backed up their Saturday victory with today’s win in Class E.

The Jacuzzi Spas Australian Production Car Series will now prepare for their fourth round at Sydney Motorsport Park on 21-23 September.

Porsche 944 Challenge

Cameron Beller has taken out the Dennis O’Keefe Cup, as part of an invitational round of the Porsche 944 Challenge at Winton.

Yesterday’s race win and today’s second place helped him to the win, as rival Chris Lewis-Williams failed to finish the final race.

Lewis-Williams won today’s first race ahead of Beller, with Tony Westaway third.

The final Handicap race saw Peter Doherty take the win, ahead of Mark Taubitz and Paul Crocitti.

Beller took out the round win, ahead of Robert Holding and Peter Doherty.

Competitors racing in the state championship will now prepare for Round 5 of the season, as they head to Phillip Island for the Victorian State Circuit Racing Championships.


The next Shannons Nationals event will mark the final round for the 2018 season, heading to New South Wales for Round 6 at Sydney Motorsport Park.