Sunday showdown at Phillip Island

The Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships has wrapped up a bumper three days of action at Phillip Island, featuring wall-to-wall racing across Sunday.

TCR Australia’s third and final race featured multiple Hyundai Safety Car interventions, with Brayden Wilmington spinning out of the first corner and Kody Garland spectacularly losing a wheel on the approach to the front straight.

In the end, it was Coulthard who backed up his win from earlier in the day ahead of Will Brown and Ben Bargwanna. Brown was only 0.14 seconds adrift come the chase to the chequered flag.

Coulthard won the round ahead of Dylan O’Keeffe and Jordan Cox.

Reigning Motorsport Australia Gold Star and Australian Drivers’ Champion Joey Mawson was victorious in Sunday’s sole S5000 race, in another Hyundai Safety Car interrupted 11 lap race.

The win secured the New South Welshman the round win ahead of James Golding by 10 points, with Cooper Webster rounding out the final step on the podium.

A solitary hundredth of a second was enough for Valentino Astuti to again cross the chequered flag first in the Australian Formula Ford Series’ third and final race over the weekend, edging out James Piszcyk and Cody Donald for the top step on the podium.

Astuti clinched a maximum of 61 points for the weekend, ahead of James Piszcyk and Cameron McLeod for the outright podium honours.

The Radical Cup Australia enjoyed ample track time across two races. Chris Perini topped the 26 lap marathon penultimate race, with Jordan Oon victorious in the third and final race.

Perini won the round, with Oon and Peter Carr rounding out the podium.

The Turtle Wax Trans Am Series once again delivered a thrilling 13 lap battle. Ben Grice had a spectacular excursion off track on the approach to Turn Two, only to rejoin seamlessly in the race.

Owen Kelly was victorious in the second race, however Kelly had to settle for second in the finale with Nathan Herne crossing the chequered flag first. However, second place was enough for Kelly to secure the round win ahead of Herne. Tim Brook rounded out the weekend in the third overall.

The Precision National Sports Sedan Series enjoyed three races, with Steven Tamasi and Jordan Caruso each sharing a win each by the smallest of margins. Caruso again edged out Tamasi in the third and final race of the weekend, also securing the round for the weekend ahead of Tamasi and Shane Woodman.

The Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships will next visit New South Wales, with the Bathurst 6 Hour on 15–17 April and Sydney Motorsport Park on 27–29 May.