Suhle and Everingham claim first victories

In one of the hardest fought races in recent CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship history, Zagame Autosport’s Tyler Everingham has won his first career race today in Race Two at Phillip Island.

It was a breakthrough result for the Dubbo teenager who made his circuit racing debut in Australian Formula 4 last.

Everingham led the field home by just 0.5 seconds over podium debutant Zane Morse, despite Everingham incurring a damaged front wing in the race as he climbed from tenth.

“It was awesome! Struggled with a little bit of understeer due to the damage to the front wing, I guess that’s what you have to do when you’re coming from the back,” Everingham said.

“Finally got a first race win and it’s awesome! It’s definitely crazy going from tenth to first. I guess it’s that progression and finally learning and honing my skills in the car.”It was also a breakthrough result for CAMS Foundation Rising Star Zane Morse who started from pole as a result of the reverse grid race, but the Team BRM rookie had genuine pace to stay on the podium.

“It was really intense. Everyone was really close, they were passing each corner, it was really amazing. Very intense,” Morse said.

“Simon [Fallon] and Tyler [Everingham] were side-by-side trying to pass each other into corner one. I was catching them on the straight and I thought I’d join in too! So I went on the inside and hoped for the best.”

Liam Lawson and Nick Rowe, who both at times also led the race, had to settle for positions third and fourth respectively.

Meanwhile Race One winner Ryan Suhle had a coming together with Cameron Shields at Turn One, dropping the pair to last in the standings before a one lap safety car dash helped the pair to climb up the field. Suhle eventually recovered to fifth, while Shields took home the final points paying position in tenth.

Sage Murdoch also enjoyed an improved showing in sixth, after an inspired pass on Aaron Love into MG Corner. Simon Fallon edged ahead of Love in seventh and eighth respectively, with JRD’s Jordan Mazzaroli in ninth.

Race Three of the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will take place from 11:50am AEST tomorrow, with live streaming available on the Shannons Nationals and Formula 4 websites.

Provisional Race Two Results
1st – Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport – 19:06.2506
2nd – Zane Morse – Team BRM +0.5188
3rd – Liam Lawson – Team BRM +0.9914
4th – Nick Rowe – AGI Sport +1.0590
5th – Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport +1.6867
6th – Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport +2.3020
7th – Simon Fallon – Team BRM +3.0716
8th – Aaron Love – Team BRM +3.4078
9th – Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD +3.6486
10th – Cameron Shields – Team BRM +4.2033
11th – Zak Best – AGI Sport +4.3673
12th – Josh Denton – Team BRM +6.2368