Stars align for GT World Challenge finale

Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia powered by AWS will conclude its 2023 season in style, with a three-way title fight to go right down to the wire in South Australia this weekend.

Liam Talbot, Geoff Emery and Yasser Shahin will go head-to-head for one final time in 2023 as an impressive field of 18 drivers gear up to tackle the streets of Adelaide.

Each title contender will be in good company, with plenty of experience lining up alongside them for the season finale.

Series leader, Talbot will be aided by two-time Bathurst 12-hour winner and 2015 GT World Challenge Australia champion Chris Mies, while Max Hofer will again link up with Emery as the latter chases a record fourth category title.

Meanwhile, Yasser Shahin will be teamed with factory Porsche Penske Motorsport ace Matt Campbell aboard his EMA Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3R in his bid to equal Emery and claim a third-straight title.

2023 Speed Series, Round 5, Queensland Raceway, Queensland, Australia.
August 11th – 13th 2023.
World Copyright: Daniel Kalisz Photographer

Harrolds Racing / Volante Rosso Mercedes-AMG duo of Chris Batzios and Jayden Ojeda will also return for the final round, while Mike Bailey and Brett Hobson round out the Pro-AM competitors.

The AM class is certain to continue its intense competition, with runaway class leader Brad Schumacher to lead the field against the likes of Matt Stoupas and Paul Stokell.

Mike Sheargold will again have Garth Walden in the co-driver seat, while Canberra brothers James and Theo Koundouris will join forces in their Supabarn Supermarkets Audi.

Marc Cini returns to the series aboard his Hallmarc Racing Audi R8 LMS, while Renee Gracie steps up into a current-specification Audi R8 for the first time, having claimed the Trophy Class title at the most recent round of the series in Queensland.

There will also be a special inclusion of Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia stars as well, with Tom McLennan and Marcos Flack to grace the GT3 class alongside Paul Lucchitti’s Audi.

On top of that, there will be four MARC Car Invitational entries for the first time this year, with local hero John Goodacre and Adam Hargraves, and the Mustang-bodied cars of Darren Currie / Geoff Taunton and Axle Donaldson.

The category will see a busy schedule across the weekend, with two practice sessions to take place on Thursday before qualifying is held on Friday morning.

The first race of the weekend will then take place later than afternoon, with races two and three to see early start times on Saturday and Sunday respectively.


1 Pro/Am EMA Motorsport/The Bend Motorsport Park Yasser Shahin Matt Campbell Porsche 911 GT3R (991.2)
4 Invitational MRA Roofing and Construction Darren Currie Geoff Taunton MARC II Mustang
6 Invitational Gap Solutions/Ult100 Oils John Goodacre MARC GT
9 AM Hallmarc Marc Cini Audi R8 LMS Evo 2
20 Invitational T2 Racing Adam Hargraves MARC GT
23 AM KFC Matt Stoupas Paul Stokell Audi R8 LMS Evo 2
34 Pro/Am Harrolds Racing/Volante Rosso Motorsport Christos Batzios Jayden Ojeda Mercedes AMG GT3
45 AM RAM Motorsport/GWR Australia Michael Sheargold Garth Walden Mercedes AMG GT3
47 AM Supabarn Supermarket/Tigani Motorsport James Koundouris Theo Koundouris Mercedes AMG GT3
55 AM Schumacher Motorsport/Kelso Electrical Brad Schumacher Audi R8 LMS Evo 2
65 Pro/Am Shannons Liam Talbot Christopher Mies Audi R8 LMS Evo 2
66 GT3 Trophy Realta/Tigani Motorsport Paul Lucchitti Audi R8 LMS Ultra
75 Pro/Am Jamec Racing Geoff Emery Maximilian Hofer Audi R8 LMS Evo 2
78 GT3 Trophy Sonic/Rosche Paper/Supa Straws Marcos Flack Porsche 991.2 Cup
81 GT3 Trophy McLennan Motorsport/EBM Tom McLennan Porsche 991.2 Cup
96 Pro/Am Hobson Motorsport Mike Bailey Brett Hobson Mercedes AMG GT3
111 Invitational Hitachi Construction Machinery/Axles Earthmoving Axle Donaldson MARC II Mustang
181 AM Only Fans Renee Gracie Audi R8 LMS Evo 2