Six big rounds for Porsche

Another Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships regular has revealed its 2020 calendar with the rebranded Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia series to hold six rounds next year.

Formerly known as the Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia, the Porsche PAYCE Carrera Cup feeder category will once again feature all its rounds at the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships.

Starting off with the first round at Sydney Motorsport Park at the end of March, the category will hold rounds at race tracks across four states, including visits to The Bend Motorsport Park, Philip Island and Sandown Raceway for the finale.

The Jim Richards Endurance Trophy will again feature prominently throughout the category’s season, only instead of being at three rounds like previous years, the first five rounds will each have one endurance style race and two sprint races, with points to accumulate to both the outright title and the Endurance Trophy.

Following the announcement of the Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia, Porsche Cars Australia’s Head of Motorsport Troy Bundy was thrilled to have the category rejoin the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships after what has been a huge 2019.

“Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia certainly experienced its strongest year to date in 2019 and we look to build upon this success in 2020,” Bundy said.

“With the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships enjoying record crowd attendance, social, online and live stream audiences in 2019, we feel this provides our teams, drivers and series partners with an incredible platform from which to start the 2020 series.

“There is already great interest from those looking to race in Michelin Sprint Challenge next season and we expect to see a similar number of drivers and cars, if not more, on the grid in 2020.”

This year saw Harri Jones take out the title in an epic season finale at The Bend Motorsport Park, while the Pro-Am class was won by the track’s owner, Sam Shahin.

The first round of the Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia and the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park on 27-29 March.

2020 Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia calendar
Round 1 Sydney Motorsport Park 27-29 March 2020
Round 2 Winton Raceway 1-3 May 2020
Round 3 The Bend Motorsport Park 12-14 June 2020
Round 4 TBC 3-5 July 2020
Round 5 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit 21-23 August 2020
Round 6 Sandown Raceway 11 – 12 September 2020