Shannons Nationals The Bend: Saturday Review

After another intriguing day of motor sport action during the Shannons Nationals at The Bend Motorsport Park, speedseries.com.au has a look at each category ahead of the final day.

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge

While Max Vidau and Aaron Love came away with the three wins, the day belonged to Harri Jones who took out the 2019 title after race two.

Jones only needed to finish fourth in each race if Love won and that is exactly what he did as he secured McElrea Racing’s first ever title in the one-make series.

While Vidau won the first and secured third outright, it was Love who won the next two and picked up a well-deserved outright series runner-up finish.

Sam Shahin grabbed the third race Pro-AM win and the class along with it despite having a horrid opening two races.

Carsales TCR Australia Series

It was a pure elation to pure heartbreak for Dylan O’Keefe who ended qualifying on pole, before a power steering issue saw him miss the first race and pack up shop for the rest of the weekend.

In the race, it was series winner elect Will Brown who held the lead from start to finish as he put a disappointing Friday behind to secure P2 and the victory.

Behind him, Aaron Cameron and Tony D’Alberto continued their season-long battle for second with Cameron finishing ahead of D’Alberto to set up an intriguing battle during tomorrow’s two races.


It was the battle of the new boys in the S5000s as Virgin Australia Supercars Driver Anton de Pasquale secured a pole position over another first-timer in Thomas Randle.

When the qualifying race took place late in the afternoon, it was roles revered as a fast start from Randle saw him replace de Pasquale at the top and seal the race win.

John Martin started the race in third and finished there as he had an entertaining battle with Sandown round winner James Golding.

The series is back in the morning with qualifying race two at 9:45 ACDT, before the main feature race takes place in the afternoon.

Prototype Series

John Paul Drake has kept his title series alive with a victory in the Australian Prototype Series only race today, while outright leader David Barram finished in second place.

The two found themselves in the top two after pole sitter Mark Laucke and current runner-up Daniel Gonzalez collided on the fourth lap, which put them off the track and to the back of the grid.

Rounding out the podium was Andreas Laskaratos after the Greek international recovered from a slow start to power through and take advantage of the incident.

With Gonzalez and Laucke both suffering a fall down the grid, it means Drake now moves into second outright and the main contender against Barram for the 2019 title.

The series returns for the final race of the weekend tomorrow at 11:25am.

The Excels Nationals

It’s been the Victorians, which have dominated the category thus far, and they’ve been led by 2019 state series winner Ben Grice who continued his stronghold over the competition, grabbing wins in both of today’s races.

The rest of the top five changed a little bit with four drivers battling it out as Daniel Errigo and Cooper Webster both enjoyed a runner-up finish, while Joel Johnson and Asher Johnston both ended the day with a third place each.

The defending champion in Michael Clemente made his first appearance for the weekend working his way from the back of the grid to 16th and then 11th in the second race as he looks to close in on the top five.

The series has two races tomorrow with race one at 9:15am and a final feature race at 15:35.

The Australian Production Cars Series

The series title fight is heating up as Coleby Cowham and Lindsay Kearn closed the gap significantly on outright leaders Chris Lillis and Nathan Callaghan.

Two wins to the Ford Mustang saw them reduce the points to just 16 at the end of the day as the Iain and Grant Sherrin dropped down after finishing sixth in the second race.

Two third places to Bradley Carr summed up a strong day for the A2 class driver as he looks to climb up the standings.

The series has two more races tomorrow with the first one race at 9:55 and the second at 16:25 ACDT.