Shannons Day 3 Wrap

Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series 

Michael Anderson and Jon McCorkindale have shared victories at Phillip Island, after a big final race accident took both of the round favourites out of the race.

McCorkindale won today’s opening race in tricky conditions, opting for a wet tyre in what was eventually a very damp circuit.

Anderson claimed the final race win, after bad luck saw round-favourites Tyler Greenbury and Jack Smith out of the race.

Greenbury’s tyre exploded, which saw him have no control and smashing into the rear of Smith.

McCorkindale claimed his first ever round and race win, while Anderson’s final race win was his career first.

The series will now prepare for their final round of the season, running on 29-30 October.

Australian Prototype Series

Mark Laucke has been crowned the title winner, finishing on top of the series points after the final round for 2017 at Phillip Island.

Laucke’s second place finish was enough to secure the series win, finishing behind Aaron Steer in the final race.

Radical racer Philip Hughes had a consistent round, taking the round win from Steer and Chris Sutton.

Title winner Laucke was fourth, ahead of David Crampton, Gerrit Ruff, Jack Crampton and Terry Peovitis for the round.

Laucke’s P1 class West WX10 won the overall title while Chris Sutton was second in his Radical SR3.

Terry Peovitis held on to third place despite Hughes’ final round charge, his RFR1000 open-wheeler completing the top three in a series filled with differing machinery.

Australian Production Car Series 

Iain and Grant Sherrin have claimed their first race win for the season, during the Australian Production Car Series four hour race.

The Sherrin Racing M4 claimed a convincing victory of 1.3 laps, finishing ahead of strong A2 duo Chris Lillis and Nathan Callaghan.

Their Holden HSV was the first A2 car home, with class C entrants Tyler Everingham and Calum Jones rounding out the podium.

Garth Walden and Indiran Padayachee drove to a solid second in A1 and fourth outright, ahead of C class runner-ups Hadrian Morrall and Colin Osborne.

Michael Auld and Richard Bloomfield crossed the line sixth outright and first home in B2, while brothers Kyle and Blake Aubin took home first in class D.

Amy and her father Mark Griffith had a special race, finishing first on debut in class E.

The series will return to the Shannons Nationals for their final round at Wakefield Park on 18-19 November.

CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series presented by Pirelli

Steve McLaughlan has bounced back, charging from eighth to first in the final race of the Australian GT Trophy Series at Phillip Island.

McLaughlan gained the lead early in the 50-minute race, moving ahead of Rod Salmon during the pit stops.

Wayne Mack was third for the race, after a great battle with Jan Jinadasa and Rob Smith late in the race.

Mark Griffith was the first Challenge car home, finishing just inside the top 10.

The series will now prepare for their final round for the season as they head to Wakefield Park on 18-19 November.


The Shannons Nationals will now prepare for its final round, running across two days at Wakefield Park on 18-19 November.