Saturday wrap: Sydney Motorsport Park

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia 

Simon Fallon has taken out the Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia title, after a small mistake made by Cooper Murray in the final race.

Murray was in the box seat to take out the title starting from pole,  but unfortunately stalled on the grid and was hit heavily from behind by Shane Barwood.

Barwood was taken to the Medical Centre after the race for a precautionary check-up after the smash.

Fallon then had to finish at least 11th to secure the title, finishing the race and the round in third.

Two breakthrough wins for Jimmy Vernon saw him seal his first round win in the series, finishing ahead of Max Vidau outright.

Class B title winner Christian Pancione also sealed the Class B round victory, after taking two race wins today.

Phil Morriss was second ahead of David Greig for the round.

Pro-Am’s round win went to Brett Boulton, with Michael Hovey and Marcel Zalloua rounding out the podium.

Danny Stutterd claimed the Pro-Am title for 2018.

CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship 

CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship leader Jayden Ojeda has clinched a further crucial 25 points in today’s opening race at Sydney Motorsport Park.

It was a lights-to-flag victory for Ojeda in the 11 lap opening race, who interrupted teammate Ryan Suhle’s streak of quickest practice and qualifying times to win over Aaron Love by two seconds.

It was a less than ideal start for pole-sitter Suhle, incurring excessive wheel-spin at the start and dropping to tenth in the process.

Lochie Hughes was in podium contention for much of the race, before the hard charging Suhle caught up through the pack.

Setting quickest sectors in the process, Suhle climbed from 10th back to third.

Hughes was left to be content with fourth ahead of fellow Burson Auto Parts Rookie contender Jackson Walls.

Thomas Smith, Zayd Tones, Josh Smith, Ardie Jonic and Antonio Astuti rouned out the final top 10.

Two races are left to run tomorrow as part of Formula 4’s penultimate round for the season.

Aussie Racing Cars 

Kel Treseder has had a solid start to the round at Sydney, taking both of today’s race wins in the Aussie Racing Cars.

After qualifying on pole, Treseder led the way in the opening race to win a thrilling battle ahead of Justin Ruggier and Blake Sciberras.

Joshua Anderson was fourth in the opening race, with Joel Heinrich in fifth.

Anderson finished behind Treseder in the second eight-lap race, with Heinrich third and Kyle Ensbey fourth.

The series will complete their return to the Shannons Nationals tomorrow, with a further two races.

Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels 

Mark Laucke has taken his first win of the 2018 Australian Prototype Series, in an unpredictable 12-lap opener at Sydney Motorsport Park.

He led home series leader Jason Makris and John-Paul Drake in a tense race – that saw Drake cross the line first only to have a penalty deny him a maiden victory.

In a rare standing start, polesitter Drake was slower away than teammate Makris, while Laucke jumped to third on the opening lap.

Peter Paddon was the best of the Radicals and after settling into fourth early in the race, gained pace as the race evolved to close in on Laucke by lap six.

That commenced a four-way fight for the lead as teammates Drake and Makris swapped positions several times in an entertaining fight.

Drake was able to pull away in the closing laps and crossed the line first—but a five-second penalty give to Drake for a start line infringement, seeing him drop to third behind Makris and winner Laucke.

Paddon, who narrowly missed out on a top three on the road, was also penalised five seconds for a start line infringement – though he retained fourth position and first Radical home.

Series rookie Paul Braico finished fifth, with Carmelo Bonaventura sixth and Chris Sutton seventh, while Phil Hughes managed eighth.

The two-race format in Sydney will see one further race complete the round on tomorrow with an 18-lap mini-enduro to decide the round winner.

Radical Australia Cup

Chris Perini has claimed the opening Radical Australia Cup race at Sydney Motorsport Park, starting from pole position.

At Radical’s home event, Perini finished the 50-minute race ahead of Peter Paddon, with Mitch and Brad Neilson sharing the duties to cross the line third.

Tony Haggarty was fourth, ahead of Kim Burke in fifth.

Peter Clare finished the race sixth, with Bill Medland, Simon Haggarty, Greg Kenny and Michael Whiting completing the top 10.

The series will return tomorrow for a further 50-minute race.

Jacuzzi Spas Australian Production Car Series 

Ryan Simpson will start from pole position for tomorrow’s Australian Production Car Series’ four hour race.

Simpson will share the front row of the grid will be teammate Tony D’Alberto, with Beric Lynton to start third and Iain/Grant Sherrin from fourth.

Nathan Callaghan was fastest in Class A2 (10th outright), an impressive Jordan Cox in Class B1 (8th outright) and Blake Aubin in Class C (16th outright).

Class D’s pole went to Ollie Shannon (18th outright), while Class E went to Iain Salteri (21st outright).

The series will head out for a Warm Up session before tomorrow’s four hour race.

Veloce Racing Association

Michael Musumeci has claimed the first race win of the Veloce Racing Association at Sydney Motorsport Park.

After qualifying on the front row of the grid alongside pole-sitter David Capraro, Musumeci claimed the win after a great battle.

Frank Carigliano crossed the line in second with Capraro finishing third.

Matt Magraith was fourth, ahead of Darren Harris and Roberto Seritti.

Colin Wilson-Brown, Robert Panetta, John Lenne and Paul Murray rounded out the top 10.

The Alfas will return tomorrow for a further two eight-lap races.

VSR Showdown presented by Motum Simulation 

The single driver elimination rounds are now complete, as part of the 2018 opening round of the VSR Showdown at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Today’s final four races determined the grid for tomorrow’s semi-final and final, with the winner of the Showdown to win a test in a Formula 4 car.

Aussie Racing Cars driver Josh Anderson was quickest throughout the practice sessions and finished consistently in his seats to earn himself the spot as top qualifier.

Andrew Kahl came back strong in the second elimination race to seal his spot as the second seed for tomorrow.

The final race of the day saw Mitch McLeod hold off Chris Aoun and Scott Cislowski in what was the closest race of the day.

Cislowski’s fastest lap saw him earn himself the wildcard spot for tomorrow’s semi-final.

The VSR Showdown will host quarter finals, semi-finals and the final tomorrow to crown their first winner.


The Shannons Nationals returns tomorrow for the final day of racing for the season, with all of the action to be streamed live and free at speedseries.com.au.


The final round of the Shannons Nationals is proudly supported by the NSW Government.