Sandown Sunday Wrap

CAMS Australian GT Championship 

Geoff Emery has taken the round win in the CAMS Australian GT Championship, after claiming today’s final race win.

The final race of the weekend went down to the wire, with Fraser Ross finishing a close second to Emery and along the way claimed second for the round.

Eggleston Motorsport’s Peter Hackett rounded out the podium with third for the event.

Jeremy Gray took the round win in the GT4 class, with Victor Zagame and Coleby Cowham driving with Mark Caine rounding out the top three positions.

For the first time this year, the GT Championship event included the CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series, with Nick Kelly leading the way ahead of Matthew Stoupas and Rio Nugara.

The CAMS Australian GT Championship will return to the next round of the Shannons Nationals at Phillip Island.

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia 

Cooper Murray has sealed the second round of the Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge, after winning the final race of the weekend at Sandown.

Murray won the round on a count-back, after he and Simon Fallon drew on points.

After winning yesterday’s opening race, Fallon went on to finish first in Race 2 although was awarded half-points due to the shortened race.

Luis Leeds rounded out the podium for the weekend with third, finishing ahead of Max Vidau and Jimmy Vernon.

Chelsea Angelo looked promising for a race win in today’s first race, however a small mistake saw her in the wall and out of the car for the rest of the event.

David Greig took Class B honours at Sandown, with Daniel Stutterd victorious in the Pro-Am division.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge will return to the Shannons Nationals for their next round at Phillip Island.

Australian Production Car Series 

Beric Lynton has had a stellar weekend at Sandown, taking out the opening round of the Australian Production Car Series.

Lynton clean-swept the weekend in class A1, finishing ahead of yesterday’s pole-sitter Rick Bates for the round.

Bob Pearson rounded out the podium with third.

Three wins in class A2 saw Karl Begg take the round win, while B1 honours went to Hadrian Morrall and Michael Benton.

Pole and four race wins handed the round victory to Blake Aubin in the C class, with Aaron Cameron following in a similar fashion thanks to his four race wins in class D.

MG Motorsport’s James Brock was the winner in class E.



Round 2 of the Jacuzzi Spas Australian Production Car Series will be held at Queensland Raceway on 27-29 July, which will include the infamous ‘Fight in the Night’.

Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels

A perfect weekend at Sandown has rocketed Jason Makris to the top of the Australian Prototype Series.

The Gold Coast-based driver backed up his Race 1 victory with a great performance in the longer Race 2 at Sandown, withstanding a sustained attack from teammate John-Paul Drake in the opening laps before pulling away to a four-second victory.

Dimitrios Zartaloudis finished a career-best third in the 23-lap affair, rebounding sensationally from a crash in Race 1.

Despite engine issues restricting him to sixth in the second race, Mark Laucke completed the final step on the outright podium thanks to his impressive second-placed finish in Race 1.

Philip Hughes recovered from a trip to the sand trap to take the Radical class honours over Tony Haggarty.

Mitch Neilson finished fourth but only after a heady battle with Simon Haggarty.

The series will take a break prior to the next round of the series at Queensland Raceway on 27-29 July.

Radical Australia Cup

Kim Burke has claimed the Round 3 win in Radical Australia Cup, after winning the round by a mere two points.

Backing-up from taking pole in yesterday’s qualifying session, Burke went on to win the opening race, before finishing second in Race 2.

Second for the round was Simon Haggarty, who shared wins with Burke after claiming the second 50-minute race for the event.

Third for the round was John-Paul Drake, after rounding out the top three in both of today’s stints.

Chris Perini was fourth, ahead of Tony Haggarty in fifth.

Mitchell and Brad Neilsen were sixth for the third round, with Rowan Ross seventh.

The series will now prepare for its next event, heading to Phillip Island.


The Shannons Nationals will now head to the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit for the third round of 2018 on 1-3 June.