Sandown Sunday wrap

Australian Production Cars 

The Australian Production Cars series got just one race completed on Sunday and it was Drew Russell who won in dominant fashion, finishing almost a minute ahead of Shane Smollen.

Russell launched his BMW M3 off the line before going on to create a healthy gap on the trailing pack, before extending his lead through the first round of pit stops and into the back end of the race.

After starting down the order, championship leader Beric Lynton worked his way through the field to salvage third place, improving on yesterday’s result.

Round four of the Australian Production Cars series will take place on 21-23 October at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Photos: Speed Shots Photography

Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia

The title fight for the Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia delivered once again as Thomas Sargent edged out title rival Ryan Wood by more than a second after both drivers charged their way up the order during the Enduro Cup feature race.

With competitors taking to the wet track during the formation lap, a number of teams opted to switch to wet tyres and start from the pit lane, including Sargent and Wood and although they started from the back, the duo fought their way through the field to eventually get to the lead, where Sargent eventually won.

Lachlan Bloxsom rounded out the podium in a race that saw plenty of drama, including Eric Constantinidis storm off the line to take a convincing lead in the opening stages, before the eventual podium finishers put their class on display.

The Enduro race capped off a busy weekend for the Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia, with the next round of the series taking place at The Bend Motorsport Park 21-23 October.


Gulf Western Oils Touring Cars Masters

The first race of the day kept fans on the edge of their seats right up until the final lap, with Adam Bressington beating John Bowe to take the victory.

The contest featured mixed conditions and a safety car period towards the back end of the race that ultimately saw George Miedecke round out the podium places.

The second race of the day was just as exciting, with Ryan Hansford taking the chequered flag four tenths ahead of Bressington.

The race was once again affected by a safety car, bunching the pack together for an exciting finale which saw Miedecke give away his spot on the podium to Andrew Fisher on the final corner of the race.

The next round of the Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters will take place at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International on 11-13 November.


GT World Challenge Australia

An exciting end to the race saw Yasser Shahin and Garth Tander take the victory in race two of the weekend at Sandown.

In a race marred by extreme wet weather conditions, van Gisbergen wobbled his way down the pit straight but was able to hold onto the lead through the opening laps.

A safety car was deployed not long after due to a couple of spins at turn thirteen, which turned into a red flag which stopped all on-track action for the majority of the session.

A chaotic finish to the end of the race saw Prince Jeffri Ibrahim lose position to Tony Bates, Yasser Shahin and Liam Talbot, before Bates spun on the final lap, leaving himself stranded in fifth place.

Shahin and Tanders victory locked in the top spot of the podium for the combined result of the weekend, with Ibrahim and van Gisbergen in second place and Talbot and Fraser Ross in third.

The next round of the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia will be at The Bend Motorsport Park 21-23 October.


Turtlewax Trans Am Series

Owen Kelly might have won the battle in the final race of the season, but Nathan Herne won the outright war as he claimed his second consecutive Turtle Wax Trans Am title.

Herne stormed to a five second victory over rival Kelly in the first race of the day, settling himself in a strong position heading towards the final chapter.

The series leader led the pack in the opening laps of the second race, but Kelly was determined to keep himself in title contention, taking the lead and extending it to five seconds as he crossed the chequered flag.

Kelly ultimately fell short, as Herne claimed the title with a 19-point advantage to conclude the season.


Supercheap Auto TCR Series

The first Supercheap Auto TCR series race of the day was headlined by Ben Bargwanna turning his weekend around by snatching the win from Jordan Cox right at the death of a thrilling race.

Will Brown rounded out the podium places, while Tony D’Alberto took fourth, finishing within only two seconds of the race leader.

Brown then took his first victory of the season in the following race by finishing one second ahead of Michael Caruso.

In what was a drama filled final race of the weekend, cars struggled for grip due to the wet weather conditions earlier on in the day but were able to stay away from the walls to keep the race flowing.

The next round of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia series will take place at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International on 11-13 November.