Sandown – Behind the track

With the Shannons Nationals set to take over the iconic Sandown Raceway, we crunched some numbers before the event kicks off this weekend.

Five championships and series will compete at the second round of the Shannons Nationals

The CAMS Australian GT Championship headlines the list the categories, including Radical Cup Australia, Australian Prototype Series, Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge and the Australian Production Car Series make their long awaited return to the iconic track.

Australian GT will also host the Trophy Class’ second event for the year, after last appearing at the season opening Australian Grand Prix.

Tom Tweedie holds the outright fastest lap at the ‘new’ Sandown tack.

Set in 2013 aboard the ferocious Formula 5000 machinery, Tweedie completed the circuit with a time of 1:05:7669 on 14 September 2013 in a Chevron B24/28 Chevrolet.

Sandown Raceway was officially opened in 1962.

The Sandown International Cup was one of the first events hosted at the venue, featuring a who’s who of world motor sport including Jack Brabham, Bruce McLaren, Stirling Moss and Jim Clark.

Sandown Raceway has held the Australian Grand Prix on six occasions.

Sir Jack Brabham won the first race in 1964 as part of the Tasman Series, which was also held in 1968 and 1972.  The last Grand Prix was held in 1978, seven years before it became part of the modern day World Championship in 1985.

Sandown held the first FIA race in Australia.

On 2 December 1984, Sandown held the first FIA World Championship road race in Australia with German Stefan Bellof and Englishmen Derek Bell winning the final race of the 1984 World Endurance Championship season

The track had two different lengths before settling on the current length of 3.1 km.

The first track opened in 1962 was also 3.1km before it was extended in 1984 to a length of 3.8km. The track was then shortened in 1998 to what it is today.

The fastest point at Sandown is the end of the back straight.

Supercars are able to reach a top speed of 261km/h at this point of the track just after passing slowest point on turn four.

Peter Brock would be considered the track’s most successful driver.

The Australian legend won the iconic Sandown 500 race outright an incredible nine times throughout his career.