S5000 set for six

After a successful debut at Sandown Raceway, and ahead of a second meeting at The Bend Motorsport Park next month, S5000 Australia’s 2020 calendar has been released with a six-round season to take place.

The first official season will begin on Australia’s biggest stage, the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix 2020 in March.

The remaining five rounds of the season will be part of the Shannons Nationals at The Bend, Phillip Island, Winton, Sydney Motorsport Park and concluding where it all began, Sandown.

Australian Racing Group Director Matt Braid believed the six round season is a result of the growing interest in Australia’s newest open wheel category.

“The launch of S5000 at Sandown clearly demonstrated the huge interest and support for a fast, entertaining, and premier open wheel category in Australia,” Braid said.

“The significant local and international interest in S5000 will continue to grow… with an expanded calendar featuring high profile events, iconic tracks and impressive driver talent.”

With the potential chance for a special exhibition race for non-championship points at Bathurst later in the year, category manager Chris Lambden was excited for what the future had to hold for S5000.

“Interest in our 2020 Australian series is high after that great Sandown debut, both from within Australia and overseas, and the enquiry level from some top young driver talent is exciting,” Lambden said.

“Where better to kick off a top-level Australian single-seater championship than at the Australian F1 Grand Prix?

“Aligned with TCR at the remaining rounds, that’s one very attractive package for real motor sport fans – whether at the track or in front of a TV.

“And then, to cap it all off, a one-off major event at the most challenging race track in Australia.

“Personally, I’m thrilled with how it’s going. S5000 is already getting a fair bit of international attention, and this schedule is well and truly going to keep that momentum going.”

S5000’s last appearance for 2019 will be part of the Shannons Nationals’ final round for the year at The Bend Motorsport Park on 15-17 November.

Tickets for the Shannons Nationals seventh round are now available here.

Fans unable to attend the round can watch via SBS or on the live stream on speedseries.com.au on both Saturday and Sunday.

2020 S5000 Season

Round 1: Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park, 12-15 March
Round 2: Sydney Motorsport Park, 27-29 March
Round 3: Winton, 1-3 May**
Round 4: The Bend Motorsport Park, 12-14 June
Round 5: Phillip Island, 21-23 August*
Round 6: Sandown, 11-13 September