Radical Australia Cup’s super six

The Radical Australia Cup 2020 schedule has been revealed, with the six-round season to take place across four states, including a new addition to the calendar.

Starting in March, Sydney Motorsport Park will host the Radical Australia Cup for its opening round alongside fellow national categories Australian Production Cars and Australian Prototype Series for the Production Car Nationals.

The category will stay in New South Wales for its second round of the year as it joins up with the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships for the highly anticipated Bathurst 6 Hour in April at Mount Panorama.

A two-month break awaits the series before heading to The Bend Motorsport Australia with the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships again in June.

The category then heads further west for its fourth round as a number of the competitors get to experience Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia for the first time.

Following on from its WA round, the Radical Australia Cup re-joins the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships in Victoria for the final two rounds of the year as August’s penultimate round at Phillip Island is succeeded by the season finale at Sandown Raceway in September.

After taking on feedback at the end of 2019, category manager Karl Reindler believed this year was shaping up to be something special.

“Knowing Bathurst is always a Radical favourite, we began discussions with Australia Racing Group and Motorsport Australia (to feature on the 6 Hour), and they both put in their considerable resources to ensure we made it onto the program at Easter alongside the annual Bathurst 6-Hour,” Reindler explained.

“We’ve also often spoken of mixing up our ‘away’ races – the events that are a little outside the normal Sydney-Melbourne east-coast program, and an option has come to compete at Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia.

“As a West Aussie I’m a convert about what a great weekend it will be, and we’re keen to ensure a program that sees everyone back on the eastern seaboard by Sunday night – one of the things we’re still locking way.

“All up it’s a good mix of events with two of Australia’s best circuits in Bathurst and Phillip Island leading the charge, a return to The Bend, and Perth as a ‘wildcard’ with few of our drivers having ever ventured that far west in the past, so we’re really looking to turn that into an event to remember.”

The 2020 Radical Australia Cup begins on 6-8 March at Sydney Motorsport Park as part of Production Car Nationals.

2020 Radical Australia Cup
Rnd#1 – 6-8 March – Sydney Motorsport Park, New South Wales
Rnd#2 – 10-12 April – Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales
Rnd#3 – 12-14 June – The Bend Motorsport Park, South Australia
Rnd#4 – 11-12 July – Barbagallo Raceway, Western Australia
Rnd#5 – 21-23 August – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Victoria
Rnd#6 – 11-13 September – Sandown Raceway, Victoria