RAC to resume in September in Sydney

The Radical Australia Cup (RAC) has announced its revamped 2020 calendar with the category to resume the current season in September at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Having already begun its season earlier this year at the Eastern Creek circuit, the category will have another four rounds across three states to finish its season.

Following its second visit to Sydney Motorsport Park for 2020 in September, the RAC will then join up with the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships in October for the next two rounds at The Bend Motorsport Park and Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit.

The season will then finish in November with the Radical Australia Cup to form part of the inaugural Bathurst International at Mount Panorama.

While the race formats are yet to be decided, category manager Karl Reindler was just happy to finally get a calendar in motion.

“Despite the setback, we’ve been in constant contact with Motorsport Australia, circuits and promoters as it became likely we could look at a return to competition,” Reindler said.

“This is obviously a very different calendar to that which we revealed at the start of the year, but we think it’s the best of what we had available after discussions with many of the stakeholders – allowing us to conclude the season with five rounds and establish a 2020 Series winner.

“We were fortunate to be able to secure rounds at The Bend Motorsport Park and Phillip Island with the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships – and be on the calendar at Bathurst for what will be our season ending event in mid-November.

“All up it’s a good solution to what we’ve been dealt – although it comes with the proviso that should the State and Federal Governments initiate new restrictions with respect to Covid-19, we will be abiding by those and making changes accordingly, with the safety and well-being of all our teams and staff of the highest priority.”

Reigning champion Chris Perini currently leads the series after winning the opening round over Peter Paddon, while only two points separate Stephen Champion, Carmelo Bonaventura, Kosta Pohorukov and Brad Shiels for third place.

The Radical Australia Cup resumes on 5-6 September at Sydney Motorsport Park as part of the NSW Motorsport Australia State Circuit Championships.

2020 Radical Australia Cup – Calendar
Rnd#1 – 6-8 March – Sydney Motorsport Park, New South Wales
Rnd#2 – 5-6 September – Sydney Motorsport Park, New South Wales
Rnd#3 – 17-18 October – The Bend Motorsport Park, South Australia
Rnd#4 – TBC – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Victoria
Rnd#5 – 14-15 November – Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales