Queensland Raceway Wrap – Sunday

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia 

The series chase has intensified following an entertaining fourth round battle at Queensland Raceway, with Simon Fallon, Brett Boulton and Christian Pancione securing their respective class victories.

The Pro class provided tremendous racing throughout Sunday’s two sprint races, with Victorian Simon Fallon triumphant in both of the races.

After struggling with a fifth place in the 40-lap opener, Fallon bounced back from fifth on the Race 2 grid to the lead exiting Turn 2.

From there, he went on to win despite points leader Cooper Murray applying pressure for the majority of the race.

Fallon continued at the front in race three, taking victory from Max Vidau and cementing his position on the top step of the overall and Pro round podiums, with Murray unfortunately retiring from Race 3 with radiator damage.

Vidau finished second for the round with Chelsea Angelo third, her first podium in this series.

Pro-Am honours went to Brett Boulton, who clean swept the Queensland Raceway round.

The local driver topped the round podium from Danny Stutterd and his McElrea Racing teammate Michael Hovey.

Christian Pancione continued his impressive Class B form, winning all three Class B races, taking the top step of the round podium from second-placed David Greig and Phil Morriss while extending his class lead to a substantial 167 points.

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia will now prepare for their next round at Winton on 1-2 September.

Jacuzzi Spas Australian Production Car Series

Grant Denyer and Tony D’Alberto have taken their first race win of the year, claiming today’s 300-kilometre race at Queensland Raceway.

The duo had a dominant win ahead of Grant and Iain Sherrin, who caught up to the Lotus late in the race.

Kyle Alford and Anthony Alford crossed the line third for the event, while yesterday’s ‘Fight in the Night’ winners Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey were fourth.

Lynton and Leahey ultimately took the outright round win for the round, ahead of the Sherrins and Alfords in third.

Class B1 had a thrilling battle, with Robert Rubis and Scott Turner taking both today’s win and the round victory.

Today’s Class C win went to Leigh and Mitch Naylor, while A2 went to Ashley Heffernan and Daniel Clift.

Invitational went to Brad Wickham and Jamie Furness.

The next round of the Australian Production Car Series will be at Winton on 1-2 September.

Skye Sands National Sports Sedan Series 

Steven Tamasi has taken his first National Sports Sedan Series round win in four years, after a consistent weekend in the series at Queensland Raceway.

Tamasi got the job done finishing second in both of today’s races.

Phil Crompton was second for the round, with Shane Woodman rounding out the podium.

Thomas Randle was dominant in both of today’s races, taking both of the race victories.

Randle also set a new lap record for the Sports Sedans at Queensland Raceway, beating the previous record set in 2015 by two-tenths of a second.

Randle was fourth for the round, finishing ahead of Steven Lacey, Shane Bradford and Michael Robinson.

Adam Hargraves, Colin Smith and Jason Busk rounded out the top 10.

The final round of the series will be the next stop for the Sports Sedans, racing at Phillip Island in late November.

Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels 

David Barram completed the job he started 12 months ago to take a clean-sweep in the Australian Prototype Series at Queensland Raceway.

The local racer backed up pole position and a victory in the opening race yesterday with two further wins today to take out the round.

Series leader Jason Makris extended his lead in the points standings, in what was a consistent weekend finishing second outright.

Sage Murdoch completed the podium, scoring a podium for the first time in his brief APS career thanks to a combative weekend in the sister Jam Motorsport Wolf.

Local Carmello Bonaventura won the Radical class while Brenton Keough took the Kumho Cup.

Makris’ nearest series rival suffered some bad luck across the round, which saw him ultimately not finish the final race.

Jason Makris will enjoy an enhanced championship lead in the process, taking what was a two-point margin over John-Paul Drake out to 85 ahead of the final two rounds.

The series will now have a brief break before the next round at Sydney Motorsport Park on 21-23 September.

Series X3 Queensland

Consistency was the key for Brock Giblin this weekend, taking the round victory in the Series X3 Queensland category.

Giblin took the round win at Queensland Raceway ahead of fellow local competitors Brett Parrish and Cameron Wilson.

Wilson had an incredible comeback today after mechanical issues halted his progress yesterday, taking both of the race wins today.

Frank Mammarella and Mark Goldspink drew on points for fourth and fifth respectively, with Darren Whittington sixth for the round.

Richard Peasey, Cameron Bartholomew, Steven Pilkington and Seiton Connor Young rounded out the top 10 for the event, which boasted a 35-car field.

The next round of the Series X3 Queensland will be at Morgan Park as part of the CAMS Queensland Circuit Racing Championships on 8-9 September.


The Shannons Nationals will now prepare for its penultimate round at Winton Motor Raceway, running on 1-2 September.