Prototypes go for continuity in 2020

The Australian Prototype Series will have five rounds make up the 2020 season with visits to some of the country’s biggest race circuits.

The series will kick off the season as part of the Australian Production Cars Series’ round at Sydney Motorsport Park in March, before joining the Shannons Nationals for the remainder of the season.

In May, the series heads to Winton for its first meeting with the Shannons Nationals before heading to The Bend Motorsport Park in June for the third time since the track’s inauguration last year.

Competitors will then enjoy a midseason mini-break of more than two months, before heading to the iconic Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit in August for the penultimate round.

The 2020 season then wraps up at Sandown International Raceway in September as one of many strong categories part of the Shannons Nationals’ season finale.

Category Manager Courtney Tyler was happy with the upcoming calendar and the consistency it had for competitors.

“The main benefit of our 2020 schedule is the continuity it offers the drivers with four of the five circuits being the same as what we had in 2019,” Tyler said.

“This will allow our drivers to focus on themselves because they already know the tracks well, and we expect some real hard and fast racing due of the drivers’ recent experience.

“I think it’s a fantastic mixture of circuits and it will be great to start with Sydney Motorsport Park again after a brilliant opening round this year, as well as compete at The Bend Motorsport Park and a track with the reputation of Phillip Island.

“As for Sandown, we are really looking forward to returning there for the first time since May last year because it’s an iconic location with a wealth of history and our guys just love racing there.

“We also couldn’t be happier at finishing the season at Sandown, especially after the success of this year’s Shannons Nationals.”

The Australian Prototype Series has one round remaining in 2019, with David Barram leading Daniel Gonzalez and John Paul Drake in the three-way title fight.

Click here to purchase tickets to the season finale at The Bend.

The final round takes place at The Bend Motorsport Park as part of the Shannons Nationals on 15-17 November.

2020 Calendar
Round one: Sydney Motorsport Park | 6 – 8 March 2020 (Australian Production Cars)
Round two: Winton Motor Raceway | 1 – 3 May 2020 (Shannons Nationals)
Round three: The Bend Motorsport Park | 12 – 14 June 2020 (Shannons Nationals)
Round four: Phillip Island GP Circuit | 21 – 23 August 2020 (Shannons Nationals)
Round five: Sandown Raceway | 11 – 13 September 2020 (Shannons Nationals)