Production Cars’ New Boots

The Australian Production Car Series has today released its 2019 calendar, while also confirming an exciting new partnership with MRF Tyres.

Now known as the MRF Tyres Australian Production Car Series, a standalone event at Sydney Motorsport Park will kick off the year in March before joining the Shannons Nationals at Phillip Island, Queensland Raceway, Sandown and The Bend.

Category Manager Iain Sherrin is buoyed by the long-term commercial future of the category, whilst equally pleased with the quality of the 2019 schedule which includes their debut visit to The Bend.

“This 2019 APC calendar sees us visit some great venues across a March to November calendar which allows us the time and space between rounds for teams to be able to put together a great season,” Sherrin said.

“I am very proud of the calendar we have been able to create: we will visit some of the best tracks in the country and retain by far the largest amount of race weekend track time available to any category in the country.”

MRF Tyres is well acquainted with the Australian market as the control tyre supplier to the CAMS Australian Rally Championship, and other circuit categories across the world.

The category has already conducted extensive tests with the new tyre across eight different vehicle types across Toyota, Suzuki, BMW, Mitsubishi and Mercedes models.

Other initiatives will also include a Pole Position Award, junior driver fund, and a category promotion fund to further boost the profile of the series across the coming years. Dedicated MRF Tyre technicians and a coordinator will also be provided for at-event support.

The 2018 series will come to a close at the Phillip Island 6 Hour this weekend, with MRF Tyres to conduct a separate race simulation to gather further data ahead of their 2019 partnership with the category.

The Shannons Nationals last week confirmed its 2019 calendar, with Sydney Motorsport Park to commence the racing season on 17–19 May.

2019 MRF Tyres Australian Production Car Series calendar
1. Sydney Motorsport Park – 1–3 March (4 x 1hr)
2. Phillip Island – 6–9 June (3 x 1hr)
3. Queensland Raceway – 2–4 August (2 x 300km)
4. Sandown – 20–22 September (4 x 1hr)
5. The Bend – 15–17 November (2 x 300km)