Pollicina and Simpson take out Production Car title

Jim Pollicina and Ryan Simpson have taken out the Jacuzzi Spas Australian Production Car Series, after winning the six-hour event held at Phillip Island over the weekend.

The duo racing in their Lotus Exige took a surprise title victory, having entered the event sitting fourth in the standings.

Simpson said they went into the race knowing that anything is possible and that they could seal the win.

“We believed we could do it and usually when you believe in things they can come true,” Simpson said.

“We did everything we could, we got the car prepared properly and just did our part.

“Everyone pulled together and we did what we needed to do … and we won the series.”

Pollicina added that their strategy during the race was key to winning the title.

“We had a pretty determined strategy as to what we were going to do with the tyres and the driving stints—we stuck to it all the way through,” Pollicina said.

“We were conservative on the tyres, we drove the car straight and kept it off the ripple strips.

“We looked after it when we need to look after it and Ryan went fast when we need him to … we drove within the car’s ability instead of just going out there and tearing up gear.

“It was a strategic race for us and the taste of champagne is amazing.”

Prior to the race, it was looking like Lotus teammates Grant Denyer and Tony D’Alberto would seal the title, however multiple blown tyres dimmed their chances of the win, only managing sixth place for the event, leaving them third for the series.

Series runners-up Grant and Iain Sherrin also had tyre problems in their BMW M4, but were able to seal second for the race and for the season, finishing behind Pollicina and Simpson.

The Australian Production Car Series will return to the Shannons Nationals next season for four rounds, with their first event under the Nationals at Phillip Island on 6-9 June, 2019.

2018 Australian Production Car Series class winners: 

Outright and A1 Class: Jim Pollicina and Ryan Simpson

Class A2: Chris Lillis and Nathan Callaghan

Class B1: James Keene and Dominic Martens

Class B2: Kaitlyn Hawkins

Class C: Calum Jones

Class D: Matt Thewlis

Class E: James Brock