Michelin Sprint Challenge confirms 2022 calendar

The Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge has confirmed its 2022 season calendar with six rounds to make up the 2022 season.

As usual, the series will feature on the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships bill, serving as one of the main attractions at each round.

The season gets underway at the third Shannons event at Sydney Motorsport Park in May, before competitors travel to the famous Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit to host the series’ second round at the end of June.

Team will then head up north for the third round at Queensland Raceway in August, with the remaining three rounds to be run in consecutive months.

Midway through September, the series will have its fourth round at Sandown International Raceway before heading to the same location as its 2019 season finale in October – The Bend Motorsport Park.

The 2022 season will then wrap up in just three weeks later in November, however a location for the finale is yet to be confirmed.

With the category’s parent series, the Porsche Paynter Dixon Carrera Cup Australia Championship, introducing new 992 vehicles for 2022, Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge teams and drivers will now campaign the old Carrera Cup cars used last year.

The first round of the 2022 season will take place at Sydney Motorsport Park as part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships’ third round on 27-29 May.

2022 Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Calendar
Round 1 – Sydney Motorsport Park – 27-29 May
Round 2 – Phillip Island – 24-26 June
Round 3 – Queensland Raceway – 5-7 August
Round 4 – Sandown – 16-18 September
Round 5 – The Bend – 21-23 October
Round 6 – TBC- 11-13 November
*All rounds are subject to change

Photo: Speed Shots Photography