Lucky 13 for new online TCR series

The brand-new carsales TCR Australia SimRacing Series has locked in its final grid with 13 TCR Australia and New Zealand drivers confirmed to take part in the season opener.

Tonight’s race takes place at the Albert Park Grand Prix circuit and this new virtual seven-round series is solely dedicated to ‘real world’ drivers from the TCR category and will be run on the popular Assetto Corsa platform.

Headlining the 13-car field will be inaugural carsales TCR Australia Series winner Will Brown in the HMO Customer Racing #1 Hyundai i30 N TCR, while the New Zealand representatives of Peter Vodanovich, Brock Timperley and ARG eSport Cup winner Jaden Ransley will also be behind the wheel of Hyundai i30s.

Certain to be challenging Ransley for top spot in the series will be ARG eSport Cup third place getter Dylan O’Keefe in the Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault Megane TCR.

There will be three Honda Civics on track tonight led by Wall Racing representatives Tony D’Alberto and John Martin, as well as Geelong-based privateer Zac Soutar, who will be making his official TCR Australia Series debut later this year.

Rounding out the field will be Chelsea Angelo and former Toyota 86 driver Luke King in Volkswagen Golfs, privateer Liam McAdam and Rowan Shepard in Audi RS 3s and former Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winner Jason Bargwanna to compete in the Burson Auto Parts Peugeot 308.

With the series to run through the acclaimed WSC TCR SimRacing platform, the competing drivers will be racing for real world prizes, which includes free entry into the real world competition.

The opening round of the TCR Australia SimRacing Series begins tonight at 8pm AEST and can be viewed via TCR Australia’s Facebook and YouTube pages.