GT4 locks in strong field for round two

A strong field of 18 cars will contest the second round of Monochrome GT4 Australia’s first season as a solo series as part of the Shannons SpeedSeries’ Race Tailem Bend at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park.

Headlining the entry list will be round one winners George Miedecke and Rylan Gray, who secured the first ever race win for the Ford Mustang in GT4 competition anywhere in the world during the history-making weekend at Race Phillip Island.

The duo will once again face fierce competition this weekend though with six different car brands to be represented.

Purchase tickets for Race Tailem Bend via motorsporttickets.com.au

From the two McLaren Artura GT4s of Nathan Morcom and Tom McLennan and young guns Marcos Flack and Tom Hayman to the Love Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT4 of Sam Brabham and Bailey Love, who secured the first pole of the season, competition at the top will be extremely tight.

There is plenty of star power to look out for in the Pro-Am class, including reigning champion Shane Smollen and his co-driver Lachlan Mineeff in the Method Motorsport Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS CS, the DNA Racing Team McLaren Artura GT4 of Jason Yu and Josh Buchan, and Thunder Buddies Racing’s Steve Jakic and Ryder Quinn in a BMW M4 GT4 G82.

The ever-experienced Tony Quinn will also be present at Tailem Bend and will welcome New Zealander Jackson Rooney in his Game Over Mercedes-AMG GT4 for the round.

Another contender in the Pro-Am class will be the Ginetta G55 GT4 of Mark Cotterell and Jarrod Hughes, however they won’t be the only ones in a G55 this weekend with the new entry of Scott Turner and Rob Rubis behind the wheel of a brand-new Ginetta.

Backed by Mackay Goodwin Lloyds Auctions and entered in the Am class, Turner tested the car earlier this month and was hopeful of starting the year off on a high.

“Rob and I have mainly been in Production Cars where we are the current Class B winners from last year,” Turner said.

“We decided to take a step up to race in more purpose-built cars and we think it’s going to be the category to grow the most as it gets more coverage down the track.

“The Ginetta has only completed two test days at Queensland Raceway. My driving and business partner Rob Rubis hasn’t even been in it yet, so Thursday practice will be his first drive.

“Testing has gone very well. Jordan Cox complemented the steering and braking of the Ginetta, so we know we’re going in the right direction.

“I think we have a really good chance in the Am Cup.”

Joining the new Ginetta G55 GT4 in the AM class are the likes of Mark Griffith in his Mercedes-AMG GT4 and the two Randall Racing BMWs steered by Peter Lawrence partnered by Jamie Augustine in the F82 and Jacob Lawrence in the G82.

Tickets for Race Tailem Bend are available for purchase at motorsporttickets.com.au with multiple ticketing options on sale, including weekend passes and corporate packages.

Fans who can’t make it to the track will be able to tune into the event via the live and free broadcasts on 7plus on Saturday and Sunday.

Sign up for a free 7plus account and watch previous rounds of the Shannons SpeedSeries. 

The fourth round of the 2024 Shannons SpeedSeries season, Race Tailem Bend, takes place at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park on 31 May-2 June.

No Class Driver 1 Driver 2 Team Model
1 Pro-Am Cup Shane Smollen Lachlan Mineeff Method Motorsport Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS CS
3 Pro-Am Cup Steve Jakic Ryder Quinn Thunder Buddies Racing BMW M4 GT4 G82
12 Am Cup Vince Gucciardo GB Galvanising Racing Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 CS MR
17 Silver Cup Bailey Love Sam Brabham Love Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT4
19 Am Cup Mark Griffith Team Nineteen Mercede-AMG GT4
22 Silver Cup Tim Leahey Central West Prestige BMW M4 GT4 G82
24 Silver Cup Nathan Morcom Tom McLennan Method Motorsport McLaren Artura GT4
25 Silver Cup Marcos Flack Tom Hayman Method Motorsport McLaren Artura GT4
26 Pro-Am Cup Jason Yu Josh Buchan Zagame Autosport McLaren Artura GT4
27 Pro-Am Cup Rob Love Antonio Astuti Love Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT4
29 Am Cup Scott Turner Rob Rubis Mackay Goodwin Lloyds Auctions Ginetta G55 GT4
32 Am Cup Jacob Lawrence Randall Racing BMW M4 GT4 G82
33 Am Cup Peter Lawrence Jamie Augustine Randall Racing BMW M4 GT4 F82
35 Silver Cup George Miedecke Rylan Gray Miedecke Motor Group with Lubrimaxx Ford Mustang GT4
36 Silver Cup Jake Camilleri Gomersall Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT4
101 Pro-Am Cup Tony Quinn Jackson Rooney Game Over Mercedes-AMG GT4
210 Silver Cup Zoe Woods TekworkX Motorsport Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 CS MR
750 Pro-Am Cup Mark Cotterell Jarrod Hughes Mark Cotterell Motorsport Ginetta G55 GT4