GT World Challenge to continue battle royale in Tailem Bend

The entry list for the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia powered by AWS’ second round of the season has been confirmed with 17 crews and five different manufacturers to battle it out for top honours across two one-hour races.

With the category running at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park for the first time since 2022, a star-studded field will feature in Race Tailem Bend as part of the Shannons SpeedSeries.

Leading the way are Supercars stars Chaz Mostert, Will Brown and Jaxon Evans; with the trio among the names capable of picking up race wins.

Purchase tickets to Race Tailem Bend via motorsporttickets.com.au.

Mostert and teammate Liam Talbot will be hoping to pick up where they left off from Phillip Island, where they enjoyed a race win in their Arise Racing GT Ferrari 296 GT3 and finished the weekend on top of the standings.

While Evans and Elliott Schutte were unable to produce a similar result in the team’s second Ferrari, the pair will be hoping to redeem themselves at Tailem Bend.

Other major contenders for the round include the two Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo entries of Brown and teammate Brad Schumacher for Shaw & Partners/Kelso Electrical and Ford Mustang 60 Years Race Phillip Island race two winners Tim Miles and Brandon Leitch for Dayle ITM, as well as the experienced Jayden Ojeda, who will have the ever-improving Paul Lucchitti by his side in the Realta/Tigani Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3.

There is plenty of other stars for fans to look out for in the Pro-Am class, with Triple Eight Racing’s Peter Hackett and Declan Fraser also on the road to redemption and the Team BRM Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo2 of Mark Rosser and former FIA Formula 3 Championship podium-getter, Alex Peroni.

Photos: Race Project

The class will also welcome a pair of new entries with New Zealander Steve Brooks to make his debut at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park alongside Porsche Carrera Cup regular Nick McBride in the Audi Sport Customer Racing Australia R8 LMS GT3 Evo2, and the return of Adrian Deitz and Tony D’Alberto in the Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo2.

The AM class will have six crews contesting the weekend, headlined by James and Theo Koundouris in the Supabarn Supermarkets/Tigani Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3.

The brothers currently hold a slender two-point lead over from RAM Motorsport’s Michael Sheargold and Garth Walden in the class standings with the two crews likely to continue their entertaining battle in South Australia.

Tickets for Race Tailem Bend are available for purchase at motorsporttickets.com.au with multiple ticketing options on sale, including weekend passes and corporate packages.

Fans who can’t make it to the track will be able to tune into the event via the live and free broadcasts on 7plus on Saturday and Sunday.

Sign up for a free 7plus account and watch previous rounds of the Shannons SpeedSeries.

The fourth round of the 2024 Shannons SpeedSeries season, Race Tailem Bend, takes place at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park on 31 May-2 June.