Grid confirmed for Radical Cup title decider

Two rising stars of Australian motorsport are set to go head-to-head for the Workhorse Radical Cup Australia title at Race Sydney this weekend, the first of two international Shannons SpeedSeries rounds.

Teenager, Alex Gardner and Western Australia’s Elliot Schutte will battle it out for the ultimate honours with only 18 points separating the duo heading into the final round at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Tickets for Race Sydney can be purchased at motorsporttickets.com.au

Gardner, who drives the #94 Radical SR3 entry for Volante Rosso Motorsport, has dominated each of the previous three rounds of the series ahead of Schutte, who has been rewarded for his consistency all season long.

However, despite Gardner’s recent success Schutte will head into the round with some extra confidence given he won the previous round at Sydney Motorsport Park earlier this year.

There are 21 cars confirmed to take to the track at Eastern Creek this weekend for the final round of the season, with all key competitors returning for one last hit-out for 2023.

Reigning champion, Chris Perini will enjoy one final run with the #1 painted on the nose of his Bing Technologies entry before handing it over to the 2023 champion on Saturday evening, certain to sit amongst the frontrunners.

Another driver who might spoil the party for Gardner and Schutte is the returning Peter Paddon, who has plenty of experience as a title contender in the past and has no issues running with the frontrunners.

Arise Racing will have a slightly different feel for the weekend, with 20-year-old Karting graduate Brandon Duncombe to fill the shoes of the vacant Jordan Oon – while Adam Lisle will also be absent for the final round.

With the absence of Oon and Lisle, the door remains wide open for Cooper Cutts and Zig Fuhrmeister to battle it out for third outright for the year, with only two points the difference between them.

While the race for the outright title is expected to take centre stage, class titles will also be decided along the way.

Peter Clare will be eager to wrap up proceedings in the Masters, Gardner will have his eyes on a duo of class honours with Rookie and Pro while Fuhrmeister remains the favourite to take out the Challenge.

The 21-strong field will take to the track for four races across the jam-packed weekend, with a lengthy practice session to prequal qualifying and race one on Friday.

Saturday’s on-track schedule will begin with race two, before race three and four take place later in the afternoon.

All four races will be broadcast live, ad-break free and on-demand on Stan Sport, while race three will be available to watch on the Nine Network.

Tickets for Race Sydney can be purchased at motorsporttickets.com.au

Workhorse Radical Cup Australia will compete in its final round of the 2023 season at Shannons SpeedSeries Race Sydney event on 3-4 November.


1 ProAM Bing Technologies/GWR Chris Perini Radical SR3 XX
2 AM GWR Australia Ash Samadi Radical SR3 XX
4 AM Underdog Racing/GFMS Warwick Morris Radical SR3
8 ProAM Lance East Exotics/Arise Racing/Beyond Custom/Jake Klarich Motorsport/B Sport Elliott Schutte Radical SR3 RSX
10 AM AN Racing Adam Naccarata Radical SR3 RSX
14 ProAM Arise Racing Brandon Duncombe Radical SR3 XX
16 ProAM Arise Racing/Terry Cutts Racing Cooper Cutts Radical SR3 XX
18 AM Arise Racing Bradley Russell Radical SR3 RSX
23 AM 82One/GFMS James Hernandez Radical SR3 RSX
28 AM Churche Racing Warwick Churche Radical SR3
31 ProAM First Focus Peter Paddon Radical SR3 RSX
32 AM HughesMotorsport/The PPF Studio Sue Hughes Radical SR3
34 AM Champion’s Racing/GWR Stephen Champion Radical SR3 XX
42 AM Focus Motorsport Mark Brame Radical SR3
47 Pro/AM Shared Runway/Volante Rosso Motorsport Peter Clare Josh Hunt Radical SR3 XX
52 AM Medland Orthodontics/GFMS Bill Medland Radical SR3 RSX
56 AM Blackkite/Volante Rosso Motorsport Greg Kenny Melinda Price Radical SR3 RSX
65 AM TRACKS/Aplus Towing Simon Arthur Radical SR3
68 Pro/AM Aus Nets Terry Knowles Barton Mawer Radical SR3
94 ProAM Volante Rosso Motorsport Alex Gardner Radical SR3 RSX
216 AM Pacific Components Zig Fuhrmeister Radical SR3 XX