Categories confirmed for The Bend

The countdown has officially begun for the first round of the season, with categories now confirmed for The Bend Motorsport Park in April.

Set to be the first ever national motor sport event at the world-class circuit, the Nationals have locked in some of Australia’s most exciting series and championships for the season opener.

The CAMS Australian Endurance Championship will run on the The Bend’s 7.7-kilometre ‘GT’ circuit, which has been labelled as the second longest purpose-built race circuit in the world.

A re-branded Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia will front the circuit for the first time, with the series having already announced some great young talent to contest the one-make series in 2018.

The National Sports Sedan Series will make their return to the Shannons Nationals line-up, with the hotted-up horsepower machines to tackle the sprint circuit layout.

The Australian Prototype Series returns to the Nationals for its second official season, which will field several South Australian drivers, notably from the Jam Motorsport squad.

Continuing on from the prototype theme will be the Radical Australia Cup series, which will head to The Bend fresh from their season opener at the Bathurst 12 Hour.

The first round line-up will also welcome two fresh categories with the Heritage Touring Cars and Group S Racing.

The Shannons Nationals will head to The Bend Motorsport Park for the first time on 13-15 April.

Categories confirmed at The Bend

  • CAMS Australian Endurance Championship
  • Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia
  • National Sports Sedans Series
  • Australian Prototype Series
  • Radical Australia Cup
  • Heritage Touring Cars
  • Group S Racing

Tickets for the first round are available online now.