Cameron eyes Gold Star in S5000 epilogue

Aaron Cameron is eying a maiden Motorsport Australia Gold Star when he takes to the track for the final round of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship this weekend.

Fresh off a recent title charge in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia, Cameron will return to open-wheel machinery and head an impressive field of returning drivers to tackle the streets of Adelaide.

While a healthy 84-point lead over Versa Motorsport’s Cooper Webster isn’t unassailable, it is a comfortable lead to defend across the category’s three races.

Webster returns to the series after securing second overall in the British GB4 Championship, where he accumulated multiple race wins throughout the season.

Webster’s international form continued in the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship’s most recent round at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park with two wins contributing to the round victory over Cameron, who had won the event’s other race.

There will be plenty of firepower joining the championship duo this weekend, including former Formula 1 driver Roberto Mehri and 2022 National Trans Am Series winner, Nathan Herne.

Herne will strengthen the already-threatening Garry Rogers Motorsport fleet, with Jordan Boys also to return for one final bout.

Meanwhile, Mehri will add some international flavour to the S5000 field and pilot the 88Racing / ACM Finance entry.

He will be joined by Formula Ford Australia graduate Kobi Williams in Team BRM, who made his debut in the open-wheel cavalcade at Supercheap Auto Bathurst International just over a week ago.

Also returning from the final round of the Shannons SpeedSeries will be Ben Bargwanna, who not only competed as part of TCR Australia but is also fresh off the plane from Macau after taking part in the final round of the Kumho TCR World Tour.

Sebastien Amadio, Mark Rosser and Blake Purdie will round out the field and bolster the South Australian representation, while Victorian Nic Carroll will also feature.

The exciting open-wheel category will compete in three races across the weekend, with two practice sessions to take place on Thursday before the competitive action kicks off on Friday.

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship will conclude its 2023 season at the VAILO Adelaide 500 event on 23-26 November.


2 The Fuzzies Game Team BRM Mark Rosser SA S5000 5200 Yellow/Blue
8 Team 88 / Team BRM Kobi Williams VIC S5000 5200 Black/Red
18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron VIC S5000 5200 Red/White
22 Amadio Wines Sebastien Amadio SA S5000 5200 White/Red
29 Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne NSW S5000 S200 Red
37 Versa Motorsport Cooper Webster VIC S5000 5200 Black/Yellow
48 Nippy’s Versa Motorsport Blake Purdie SA S5000 5200 Orange/White
49 Team Valvoline GRM Jordan Boys VIC S5000 5200 Black/Orange
71 Hangcha Racing Ben Bargwanna VIC S5000 5200 Blue
88 Team 88 / Team BRM Roberto Merhi ESP S5000 5200 White
96 Crown Windows / Hogan Prestige Cars Nic Carroll VIC S5000 5200 Blue/Yellow