Battle of the Germans locked in for GT opener

The outright battle for the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia powered by AWS is a three-way fight between the big German brands, starting at Mount Panorama this weekend.

Regular contenders Audi and Mercedes-AMG will have the added competition of Porsche featuring dual title winner Yasser Shahin spearheading attack alongside Garnet Patterson at EMA Autosport.

Audi Sport Customer Racing Australia will be bolstered by the return of multiple Australian GT series winner Geoff Emery and contender Liam Talbot, with their co-drivers to be confirmed soon.

A strong Am Class contingent led by Brad Schumacher add further to the Audi entries as Ash Samadi, GT Trophy graduate Michael Kokkinos, while reigning winning co-driver Paul Stokell moves across to Matt Stoupas’ KFC R8 LMS Evo II. Valmont Racing duo Marcel Zalloua and Sergio Pires complete the Audi armada upgrading to the latest specification R8.

On the Mercedes-AMG side, Triple Eight Race Engineering lead the attack courtesy of its two-car team featuring 2022 title contender Prince Jefri Ibrahim alongside Broc Feeney, while Prince Abu Bakar and Jamie Whincup once again pair up.

The Mercedes attack is backed by an expanded RAM Motorsport program featuring in both Pro-Am and Am for the first time. Returning to challenge for the Am Class title are Michael Sheargold and Garth Walden, while Brett Hobson switches his allegiance to Mercedes-AMG after previously driving the crowd favourite Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3. Hobson will be joined by Mike Bailey.

Harrolds Volante Rosso Motorsport returns supporting Ross Poulakis as he is joined by Sam Brabham, who makes the step up from GT4. A second entry is set to join at Perth steered by Chris Batzios and Chelsea Angelo.

Another to change brands is Justin McMillan. His M Motorsport concern joins the Mercedes-AMG brigade, partnered by fast Am driver Roger Lago.

GT Trophy is set to be hotly contested between Porsche and Ferrari headlined by leading Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge driver Marcos Flack for Sonic Motor Racing Services.

Flack’s 991 GT3 Cup Car qualified on pole for the latest Porsche Sprint Challenge round at Phillip Island and should be a contender against Stephen Coe’s Ferrari 458 GT3.

Mark Griffith will contest the opening round in his Mercedes-AMG GT4 as the sole entry in this class.

MARC Cars also make a return through Milldun Motorsport’s three-car entry featuring the two iteration of the Australian designed and manufactured package.

Owner of MARC Cars Australia Geoff Taunton will race a MARC II leaving Grant ‘Axle’ Donaldson and Darren Currie in a pair of first generation models.

Action for the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia powered by AWS at Bathurst begins on Friday with two 60 minute sessions ahead of the battle for the Pirelli Pole Award on Saturday morning across a pair of 20 minute segments.

Twin 60 minute races follow on Saturday and Sunday to round out the competition.


All of the action be watched live and ad-break free on Stan Sport. Sign up now for your seven-day free trail.

International viewers can also watch the racing live and free on the SpeedSeries website here.

The Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia powered by AWS season begins at the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour on 7-9 April.


Friday, 7 April
Practice 1 8:05am 60 minutes
Practice 2 1:40pm 60 minutes

Saturday, 8 April
Qualifying 1 10:25am 20 minutes
Qualifying 2 10:55am 20 minutes
Race 1 2:55pm 60 minutes

Sunday, 9 April
Race 2 9:20am 60 minutes

Entry list

Car # Class Team/Sponsor Driver Co-driver Model
1 Pro-Am EMA Motorsport Yasser Shahin Garnet Patterson Porsche 991 GT3R (991.2)
2 Am KFC Matt Stoupas Paul Stokell Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo
4 Invitational Milldun Motorsport Darren Currie MARC I Mazda 3
8 Am MC Labour Michael Kokkinos Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo
19 GT4 Daimler Trucks Brisbane Mark Griffith Mercedes-AMG GT4
22 Am MPC Ash Samadi Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo
44 Am Valmont Racing Marcel Zalloua Sergio Pires Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo
45 Am RAM Motorsport Michael Sheargold Garth Walden Mercedes-AMG GT3
48 Am M Motorsport Justin McMillan Roger Lago Mercedes-AMG GT3
55 Am Schumacher Motorsport Brad Schumacher Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo
56 GT3 Trophy Coe Property Group Stephen Coe Ferrari 458 GT3
65 Pro-Am Shannons Insurance Liam Talbot TBA Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo
78 GT3 Trophy Sonic Motor Racing Services Marcos Flack Porsche 991.2 Cup
88 Pro-Am Triple Eight Race Engineering Prince Abu Bakar Jamie Whincup Mercedes-AMG GT3
95 Invitational Milldun Motorsport Geoff Taunton MARC II Mustang
96 Pro-Am RAM Motorsport Mike Bailey Brett Hobson Mercedes-AMG GT3
101 Pro-Am Harrolds Volante Rosso Motorsport Ross Poulakis Sam Brabham Mercedes-AMG GT3
111 Invitational Milldun Motorsport Grant Donaldson MARC I Ford Focus
888 Pro-Am Triple Eight Race Engineering Prince Jefri Ibrahim Broc Feeney Mercedes-AMG GT3
TBC Pro-Am MPC Geoff Emery  TBA Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo