Bates and Pearson take out Fight in the Night

The highly anticipated Fight in the Night has been run and won, with Bob Pearson taking his fifth consecutive win in the Australian Production Car Series, co-driving with Rick Bates.

The fourth round of the series saw the duo snatch the outright lead after the second Safety Car period, in what was a race dominated by Iain and Grant Sherrin in their BMW M4.

Supercars star Chaz Mostert finished a reputable third driving with his good friend Nathan Morcom, while reigning champion Beric Lynton and Luke Searle came home fourth.

“Yeah it was [a great win], obviously the Safety Car helped us a bit,” Bates said.

“I knew they had good pace but I knew that if I just kept the pressure up that their tyres would go before mine would, and that is exactly what happened.

“It was pretty exciting towards the end, it was great.”

On debut in the Mercedes C63, Karl Begg and Justin Anthony were first in A2 class and fifth outright, while seventh outright and first home in Class B1 was Michael Sherrin and Scott Champion.

In Class C the battle was on from start to finish, with the winning BMW of Scott Turner and Todd Hazelwood passing the Renault driven by Colin Osborne and Hadrian Morrall shortly after the second Safety Car.

B2 class saw Troy Williams and Jeff Nielsen take the victory, while Class D went to the Lauren Gray Motorsport entry of Michael Gray and Ellexandra Best.

The Invitation class went to Lindsay Kearns and Scott Green.

The Australian Production Car Series returns for a warm up session today, prior to their final race of the weekend.