Adelaide to host classic Ford vs Holden TCM title battle

South Australia will see a classic Ford vs Holden battle unfold as Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters heads for a series showdown this weekend.

Three-time Touring Car Masters champion, Steven Johnson will look to claim his fourth title aboard his 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am, with his closest rival Ryan Hansford looking to secure back-to-back titles behind the wheel of the sleek Holden Torana A9X.

Only 75 points separate the duo ahead of the final round of the season, with Johnson in the box seat having taken multiple round wins thus far in 2023.

A bumper field of 27 competitors will take to the track this weekend for three competitive races, plus the traditional Trophy Race that will see an inverted starting grid.

There will be six Touring Car Masters New Zealand entries making the journey after a round at Supercheap Auto Bathurst International earlier this month, with plenty of Aussie star-power making up the rest of the field.

Marcus Zukanovic will return after taking out round honours at the world-famous Mount Panorama and finds himself in an almighty battle for third outright, with only 25 points between himself, Cameron Tilley, Andrew Fisher and John Bowe.

The round will mark a special occasion for Bowe, being the final round of his ‘ciao for now’ tour as he looks to cap off a glamourous TCM career.

© Copyright: Jack Martin Photography
Captured at Repco Bathurst 1000 on 20211203 by Jack Martin Photography.

The usual suspects will be greeted by sporadic, but familiar faces when Joel Heinrich and Geoff Fane join the field for the season finale, with the former having previously competed at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park round earlier this year.

The duo will each pilot a Whiteline Racing-backed Chevrolet Camaro and will look to continue their successful track record in their home state.

The popular category will see plenty of track time across the weekend, kicking off with practice bright and early on Thursday morning before jumping into qualifying just a couple of hours later.

The always-entertaining Trophy Race will be held on the Friday morning before competitors get their first taste of competitive action in the afternoon.

The final two races will then split across Saturday and Sunday, where the 2023 champion will be crowned.

The Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters Series will hold its final round as part of the VAILO Adelaide 500 event on 23-26 November.


Pro Am Garwood Racing Adam Garwood VIC Holden VB Commodore 6000 White/Blue/Red
3 Pro Am Western General Body works Danny Buzadzic VIC Holden Torana A9X 6000 White
4 Pro Sport Northside Taxis Allan Hughes QLD Holden Torana 5000 White
6 Pro Master Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford QLD Holden Torana A9X 5000 Yellow/Blue
7 Pro Am MoCOMM Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina NSW Holden Torana A9X 5000 White/Black/Red
09 Pro Master Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW Holden Torana A9X 5800 Red
12 Pro Sport Depulu Wheel Reconditioners Gold Coast Peter Burnitt QLD Holden Torana A9X 5000 White
17 Invitational Aus Dennis Transport Hagen Zerk SA Ford XA GT Coupe 5800 Black
18 Pro Master Rare Spares /PAYNTER DIXON John Bowe VIC Holden Torana SL/R 5000 5000 Black/White
30 Invitational Aus Team Quartz Motorsport Chris Meulengraaf SA Porsche IROC 3600 White
33 Pro Master Hancock Racing Steven Johnson NSW Ford Mustang Trans Am 5800 Silver/Green
55 Pro Sport Bullet Trailers Racing Team John Adams VIC Ford Falcon XY GT 5800 White
60 Pro Am Anglomoil Superior Lubricants Cameron Tilley NSW Valiant Pacer 6000 Blue
62 Invitational Aus Palmers Sales and Marketing Jason Palmer SA BMW E30 3250
70 Invitational Aus High Performance Motorsport Ian Price NSW Ford Escort Mk II 2000 White /Blue
71 Pro Master Action Motor Industries Marcus Zukanovic VIC Ford Falcon XD 5800 White/Blue
77 Pro Sport SNB Berryman Racing Warren Trewin VIC Holden HQ Monaro 5810 Blue
85 Pro Am Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTI Insurance Geoff Fane QLD Chevrolet Camaro SS 5800 Yellow
88 Pro Am TIFS Third Party Logistics Tony Karanfilovski NSW Ford Mustang Trans Am 5800 Orange
95 Pro Master Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTI Insurance Joel Heinrich SA Chevrolet Camaro RS 5800 Yellow
99 Pro Am RedAss Burrito / Bespoke Financial Advisory Ben Dunn NSW Chevrolet Monza 6000 White
104 Invitational NZ Life Sciences NZ Colin Meadows NZ Chevrolet Camaro White
110 Invitational NZ NZTCM Sean McCaughan NZ Ford Falcon XY GTHO 5800 White
117 Invitational NZ NZTCM Greg Cuttance NZ Ford Falcon XE 6555 Blue
133 Invitational NZ NZTCM Dennis Lovegrove NZ Pontiac Firebird 7000
143 Invitational NZ Fluidex Transport / Engine Dynamics Tony Galbraith NZ Valiant Charger 6000 Orange
184 Invitational NZ Hamilton Asphalts Lance Hughes NZ Holden Torana SLR5000 6700 Red