A Radical blast from the past

When the Radicals take to the track for the fourth round of its 2022 season, it will mark the first time in 10 years that the national category has raced at Queensland Raceway.

One-make national radical competition last visited QR in 2012, where the field consisted of 13 cars who enjoyed two 10-lap sprint races and one 38-lap enduro race.

The only current Radical Cup Australia driver on the grid that weekend was Sue Hughes, who qualified 11th and finished 12th, 11th respectively before picking up her best result of 10th in the finale.

Back in 2012, pole position was achieved by Peter Johnston with a record lap time of one minute and 10.2s, which remains the current benchmark this weekend.

Racing across the weekend was highly competitive amongst the category, with Neale Muston beating Paul Stokell to victory in race one on Saturday before also taking victory in race two.

The 38-lap enduro on Sunday provided plenty of entertainment.

Muston led the field for the first 27 laps before handing the lead to Johnston after his compulsory pitstop. Unfortunately for Johnston, a tangle on lap 36 with Edward Singleton resulted in Johnston dropping over 25 seconds and Singleton being out of the race with just two laps remaining.

The lead of the race was handed to Peter White, who went on to win the race after fending off Simon Haggarty to win by just two-tenths of a second – Richard Bloomfield completing the podium.

Nine years and 362 days later Radical Cup returns to Queensland Raceway August 5-7 in what will be a bumper event.

Click here to purchase tickets to Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships at Queensland Raceway.