2022 6-Hour to welcome record entry list

This year’s Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour is likely to be the biggest ever with the confirmation of a record entry list.

Taking place over the Easter long weekend in conjunction with the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships, 70 entries have been locked in for the six-hour endurance race, and if all but six manage to start, it will surpass the current record of 64 cars.

Making up the 70-car field will be 15 different brands, 34 different models and 160 drivers – all of whom will spread across the eight different classes.

The class of 2022 also features a range of talented steerers with three former champion combinations, including last year’s winning team made up of Rob Rubis, Shane Smollen and Shane van Gisbergen in their BMW M4.

It’s been a big 12 months for van Gisbergen, with last year’s win making him just the second driver in history to win the 6-Hour, 12-hour and Bathurst 1000.

The Kiwi won’t be the only Bathurst 1000 winner to be lining up in April, with Will Davison joining 2019 winners Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey.

There are plenty of other Supercars stars contesting the popular race including current drivers Tim Slade and Will Brown and champions of yesteryear like John Bowe and Marcos Ambrose – the latter making his racing return alongside Broc Feeney in last year’s great race in December.

1987 Bathurst 1000 winner Peter McLeod is also entered in the event and will be racing alongside his grandson Benjamin, while Supercars team owner, Tim Blanchard will team up with two of McLeod’s other grandsons.

Outside of the McLeod clan, there are many teams made up of family members.

Click here to read the entry list

Several entries will see fathers pairing up with their offsprings such as Bathurst 1000 podium finisher Steven Ellery with sons Tristan and Dalton and Touring Car privateer Wayne Russell with sons Drew and Aaren.

Other notable names to be contesting the event include 2018 winners Grant and Iain Sherrin, Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters regular George Miedecke and reigning Porsche Carrera Cup champion Cameron Hill.

Hill will be one of many drivers running in a BMW – the German brand proving dominant in the outright class over the previous years with multiple winning combinations often behind the wheel of a BMW.

While the 6-Hour race will be the main attraction for the race meeting, there will be plenty of entertaining support categories also taking place, including the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series, the Turtle Wax Trans Am Series, MRF Pulsar Racing Series, NSW Historic Touring Cars and HQ Holdens.

Tickets are available online here, while the Saturday and Sunday will be broadcast live and on demand via Stan Sport.

Event organisers are also on the lookout for volunteer officials to help run the event and interested Motorsport Australia members are encouraged to register via the link here.

The 2022 Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour takes place at Mount Panorama on 15-17 April.