Sydney set for Radical finish

The Radical Australian Cup (RAC) will reach its climax this weekend during the final Shannons Nationals for 2018 at Sydney Motorsport Park.

In the biggest field since the opening round in February, 14 Radicals will hit the track as Kim Burke looks to win his first Radical title after coming close in previous years.

Having finished every round in the top five, Burke is a heavy favourite to take out the title with the SR3RSX pilot only needing to cross the line to be crowned champion.

Burke’s only rival is young gun Chris Perini who sits more than 60 points behind the leader. With Perini’s best result being a third place at Sandown earlier this year, it will be a difficult task for the first year driver to pass Burke.

Brad and Mitchell Neilson will return to Sydney Motorsport Park full of confidence after finishing second during last year’s visit at the track, only to finish behind the eventual champion, Peter Paddon.

Paddon headlines the final round’s healthy entry list after confirming his return to the cup earlier in the month. The 2017 champion will be Burke’s biggest challenger in winning the round.

“I have kept active since my last Nationals race in Adelaide, so I am not going to come back in completely cold which his really good,” Paddon said.

“I have done Sydney 100 times so I don’t see that being a big deal. I think it’s a good track.”

Phil Anseline and Oliver Smith will share duties in the WT Partnership Radical following a disappointing end to last year’s second race in Sydney, losing crucial points to Paddon in the round.

A host of Radical big names are also returning to the category, Tony Haggarty and Simon Haggarty will continue their father-son rivalry, while John Paul-Drake will contest his first race since a runner-up finish at Sandown in May.

Anther set of drivers will be making their long awaited return to the RAC, with Michael Whiting, Bill Medland and Greg Kenny all looking to finish the season strong after last appearing at Tailem Bend in April.

As one of only three drivers to compete in every round, Rowan Ross will be looking to replicate his form from last year’s visit where he finished fifth, his equal best round for 2017.

Sitting just above Ross on the standings is Peter Clare who enjoyed his best result of 2018 at Phillip Island earlier in the month with sixth outright.

With the Yassir Shahan and James Winslow driven Bend Motorsport Radical and Sue Hughes not attending the final round, both Clare and Ross have the opportunity to break into the top five providing they finish the round.

Rounding out the entry list is local boy John Beck who will be making his maiden RAC appearance for 2018.

The Radical Cup begins on Saturday morning with qualifying before a 28-lap race on Saturday afternoon and on Sunday afternoon close the season.

The Shannons Nationals at Sydney Motorsport Park will take place on 21-23 September with live coverage of Sunday’s sessions available live and free at speedseries.com.au.


Entry List
1. Peter Paddon (First Focus Radical SR3RS)
5. Simon Haggarty (Axiom Wealth/Radical Australia Radical RS3RS)
6. Tony Haggarty (Axiom Wealth/Radical Australia Radical SR3RSX)
16. Phil Anseline/Oliver Smith (WT Partnership Radical SR3RSX)
33. Michael Whiting (Taylor Collision/Laucke Flour Mills Radical SR3RS)
38. Brad/Mitchell Neilson (NRT/RA Motorsports Radical SR3)
47. Peter Clare (Shared Runway Radical SR3RS)
52. Bill Medland (RA Motorsports Radical SR3RSX)
56. Greg Kenny (RA Motorsports Radical SR3RS)
66. John-Paul Drake/Aldous Mitchell (RA Motorsports Radical SR3RSX)
68. Kim Burke (RA Motorsports Radical SR3RSX)
77. John Beck (Vantage Property/RA Motorsports Radical SR3RS)
81. Chris Perini (GWR Radical SR3RSX)
88. Rowan Ross (Radical Australia SR3RSX)