Shannons Day 2 Wrap

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia 

Jordan Love has taken his Jim Richards Endurance Trophy win count to two, after claiming the opening race of Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Love, who currently leads the outright standings in the series, held off a fast Brenton Grove, in what was a challenging race for the West Australian.

Grove finished a close second by .9s, while Anthony Gilbertson was third outright and first home in the Elite class.

South Australian Sam Shahin was fourth, ahead of Brett Boulton, John Morriss and John Steffensen.

Crossing the line in eighth was Shane Barwood, with David Greig and Marcel Zalluoa rounding out the top 10 in the 30-lap race.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge returns tomorrow for a further two sprint races.

Mark Laucke – Australian Prototype Series

Australian Prototype Series 

Mark Laucke has taken the first win of the round in the Australian Prototype Series, continuing his strong pace from yesterday’s practice sessions.

Laucke qualified fourth in his West WX10, however stormed to second on the opening lap to put himself into contention early in the 9-lap affair.

Polesitter Jason Makris led early, however dropped back through the field when his car developed gearshift issues – stuck in sixth gear with a broken gear selector.

Laucke then assumed a short-lived race lead, Radical SR3 racer Michael Shaw passing him for the lead on the third lap.

Shaw led for the next three tours before Laucke was able to work his way back past and into a lead he would ultimately never lose; hanging on to take the victory by just under one second.

The result, coupled with low scores for nearest title rivals Phil Hughes and Terry Peovitis, sees Laucke draw to within 30 points of the series lead as it reaches the half-way point of 2017.

The Australian Prototype Series returns tomorrow for a further two races at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Bob Pearson – Australian Production Car Series

Australian Production Car Series 

Bob Pearson has had a very good day at Sydney Motorsport Park, claiming two of today’s Australian Production Car Series races at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Pearson single-handedly crossed the line first in the first of the two one-hour races, after bad luck struck again for the Sherrin Racing team.

Despite leading Race 2 comfortably, the M4 driven by Iain and Grant Sherrin suffered tyre issues, pushing them back to fifth place.

Mark Eddy crossed the line in second in both of today’s race, with Rod Salmon completing the outright and A1 Class podium in Race 2.

Dimitri Agathos claimed third in the opening race, while his teammate Lachlan Gibbons steered to fourth in Race 2.

The Australian Production Car Series will contest a further two one-hour races tomorrow, as part of their third round of the season.

Peter Paddon – Radical Australia Cup

Radical Australia Cup

Peter Paddon has taken the first victory for the round in today’s 50-minute Radical Australia Cup race.

The current series leader although had to fight to cross the line in first, after a quick Michael Shaw was on a charge with minutes to go in the race.

Shaw made his way past at the time a second-placed Oliver Smith, and was closing in on Paddon with minutes remaining on the clock.

Smith has continued his strong consistent run in the series, and crossed the line third.

Brad and Mitchell Neilson had a strong finish in fourth, ahead of Phil Anseline and an impressive Sue Hughes.

Greg Kenny was seventh, with Rowan Ross rounding out the top eight.

Radical Australia Cup will return for another 50-minute race tomorrow.

Veloce Alfa Challenge

Enzo Piazza has turned his pole position into a race win, as he and his Alfetta GTV6 2.5 V6 stormed to race victory in the Veloce Alfa Challenge.

Piazza led the 24 car field, setting the lap record in the category along the way.

Doug Selwood raced hard to second, whose times also fell under the existing lap record at Sydney Motorsport Park.

David Capraro completed the podium, while Frank Carigliano, Metodia Karanfilovsk and Michael Musumeci rounded out the top six.

Piazza was the first Nuovo B car home, while Capraro took out Nuovo B.

Urs Muller claimed the Classico A win, while Classico B went to Darren Harris.

The Veloce Alfa Challenge returns tomorrow for two more races at Sydney Motorsport Park.


The Shannons Nationals racing will be broadcast live and free through Nationals TV starting from 9am Sunday 9 July