Quinn recognised for GT contributions

Former CAMS Australian GT owner Tony Quinn has headlined an impressive list of award winners during the 2018 Australian GT Awards Gala recently held in Melbourne.

Following his enormous contribution to the category over the past seven years, Quinn was the first recipient of a new award named after him, the Tony Quinn Perpetual Trophy.

With current Australian GT manager Ken Collier responsible for choosing this year’s winner, Quinn will play a key part in deciding future recipients, which will be awarded to a member of the Australian GT fraternity who has made a significant contribution in the previous year.

Despite contributing so much during his time as owner, Quinn was still shocked to win the award.”I’m enormously humbled to accept the award,” Quinn said.

“When I took it over I think we had eight cars at Homebush.

“This is recognition not only for me but for everyone who worked hard over the years to really build Australian GT into what it is today.

“I’m tremendously proud of what we’ve achieved over the last few years and look forward to supporting the category in future.”

Current Australian GT owner Jim Manolios believed Quinn’s dedication in growing the category, as well as his influence, are the reasons it’s so successful today.

‘Tony has been such an instrumental figure in getting GT racing in Australia up and going and he really put in when nobody else was interested,” Manolios said.

“We needed a way of honouring that, and Ken Collier and I were talking and I thought well why don’t we name a perpetual trophy after him, and he can have some input into who gets it.

“Every sporting category needs some form of recognition for people who are really contributing to the sport and the success of the category, and this is an appropriate award given the significant part Tony has played in Australian GT’s history.”

The 2019 CAMS Australian GT Championship will kick off at the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix 2019 as Emery looks to begin his campaign for a hat trick of national titles.


2018 Australian GT Award Winners
Australian GT Championship winner – Geoff Emery
Australian GT Championship second place – Liam Talbot
Australian GT Championship third place – Peter Hackett
Australian Endurance Championship winners – Max Twigg & Tony D’Alberto
Australian Endurance Championship second place – Tony Bates & Daniel Gaunt
Australian Endurance Championship third place – Steve Richards & Michael Almond
Australian GT Championship Gold Driver (sprint series winner) – Peter Hackett
Australian GT Championship GT4 winner – Jeremy Gray
Australian GT Championship GT4 second place – David Crampton & Trent Harrison
Australian GT Championship GT4 third place – Justin McMillan
Australian GT Trophy Series winner – Nick Kelly
Australian GT Trophy Series second place – Matthew Stoupas
Australian GT Trophy Series third place – Rio Nugara
Tony Quinn Perpetual Trophy – Tony Quinn