Production Cars ready to rumble

The Australian Production Car Series will enter its fourth round of the season at the Shannons Nationals at Sydney Motorsport Park.

A host of big names will be taking part in the series’ second last round with leader Beric Lynton and co-driver Tim Leahey headlining the 26-car field.

The pair will be looking to make amends after their disastrous performance at Winton Motorway Raceway, where they failed to finish the first race and finished outside the top-five in the second race.

Also looking to improve on their previous result are Iain and Grant Sherrin, as well as the Alford brothers in Anthony and Kyle, after both teams were unable to secure race wins last time out.

The Alford’s Lotus teammates Grant Denyer and Tony D’Alberto will be looking to continue their incredible form after taking out three consecutive race wins to occupy fourth outright on the standings.

Another team on the rise and looking good for a strong result in Sydney are the final members of the Lotus troupe, as Jim Pollicina and Ryan Simpson joined their teammates on the podium in Winton after two inconsistent opening rounds.

The oldest driver in the field in Bob Pearson and Rick Bates return to the series after a lengthy break, while young gun Thomas Muller and Shane Smollen return after enjoying their recent run in the series.

New South Wales locals Jason Miller and Dylan Thomas ended their Winton run in heartbreak, pulling out of the final race and will use their home track as way to find their way back into form.

Fellow statesmen in Dimitri Agathos and Lachlan Gibbons encountered a different experience in at Winton claiming a top-five finish, as Brad Woods and Hadrian Morrell scored valuable points to get closer to the top ten.

Rounding out the A1 class is Queensland Adam Hargraves and Sarah MacSweeney who will come to the Nationals after making their debut last round, while Michael and Ben Kavich enter the class as the only debutants.

Only one team will represent the A2 class with Chris Lillis and Nathan Callaghan likely to make their way into the outright top-ten due to the absence of Karl Begg and Justin Anthony.

Class B1 leaders James Keene and Dominic Martens will headline the three-car class with their lead almost impossible to catch for Scott Turner and Rob Rubis and returning Faclon FGX pilots George Karadimas and Geoff Russell.

The C class have the next biggest turnout with four cars all in the mix, with Renualt pilots Colin Osborne and Calum Jones yet to confirm their co-drivers.

Fellow Renualt drivers Blake and Kyle Aubin still remain at the top of the class, while Mitchell and Leigh Naylor return to the series after not attending Winton.

Behind the wheel of the Mini JCW Matt Thewlis and Richard Luff will likely extend their lead at the top of Class D, whileJason Walsh and Gerry Burges will be hoping to finish a race for the first time since Queensland.

The class also welcomes series debutants Oliver Shannon and Justin Ruggier

A class E win to either James Brock and co-driver Elliot Barbour or Mark and Amy Griffith will most likely determine the overall class winner ahead of the final round in November.

Following his class victory at Winton, Cem Yucel also remains a chance to win the class with the Nissan Pulsar pilot and co-driver Iain Salteri in fine form.

The Australian Production Cars series will have two qualifying sessions on Saturday before a warm up on Sunday morning sets up the final race of the weekend, an intense four hour race which will most likely determine the outright winners of most classes.

The Shannons Nationals at Sydney Motorsport Park will take place on 21-23 September with live coverage of Sunday’s sessions available live and free at speedseries.com.au.