NSW Excels to shine on international stage

An impressive field of 17 drivers have been confirmed for the Series X3 NSW’s Shannons SpeedSeries debut at Race Sydney this weekend.

The exciting Excels category will feature in a non-competitive round following the conclusion of its 2023 season last month, showcasing some of the best Excel talent not only in New South Wales, but across the country.

Headlining the entries for Race Sydney will be three-time NSW series winner, Will Longmore – who currently holds the record for category pole positions and podiums.

Tickets for race Sydney can be purchased at motorsporttickets.com.au

There will be four interstate competitors making the trip to Sydney Motorsport Park (SMSP) this weekend, including Toby Waghorn, James Lodge, Cooper Barnes and 16-year-old Blake Tracey.

Sprint Masters class contender and Series X3 NSW President, Shannon Williams will return to the grid after narrowly missing out on a class title to rival, Brian Sciberras.

However, Williams will not have the 2023 Sprint Masters champion to contend with this weekend as Sciberras has opted to hand over the reigns to daughter Monique.

Monique finished third in the series after an impressive year as her own solo entry, but will take the opportunity to run in her father’s car.

This will not be the first time the category heads to SMSP for a non-competitive round this year, having joined the bill at the inaugural Shannons Trophy Series round in June.

Taking the round win at that event was Billy Brittain, winning three of the four races to finish ahead of a consistent Monique Sciberras.

Williams would take the only other race win that weekend, but he was unable to claim third outright ahead of another consistent driver in Hayden Auld.

Both Brittain and Auld will return this weekend in an attempt to repeat their previous success but will have to do so against a larger field.

The exciting Excel category will take to the track for a weekend-high five 20-minute races across the two-day event.

View the full schedule

The action will kick off at 1:55pm AEDT on Friday with a dual Practice/Qualifying session before returning for races one and two later in the afternoon.

The final three outings will take place on Saturday, with races two, three, four and five all to be broadcast live on Stan Sport.

Nine Network will also provide free-to-air coverage from 2pm AEDT on Saturday on 9Gem and 9Go.

Tickets for race Sydney can be purchased at motorsporttickets.com.au

Series X3 NSW will join the Shannons SpeedSeries schedule at Race Sydney this weekend on 3-4 November.


13 Andrew Smith NSW
26 Ben Goodridge NSW
31 Hayden Auld NSW
41 James Stabile NSW
54 Preston Breust NSW
55 Shannon Williams NSW
64 Caleb Hefren NSW
68 Monique Sciberras NSW
84 Will Longmore NSW
86 Cooper Barnes QLD
115 Adam Roberts NSW
132 Scott Ford NSW
139 James Lodge VIC
161 Tony Gardiner NSW
184 Toby Waghorn VIC
195 Blake Tracey VIC