Mawson to head up BRM S5000 charge

After a huge 2021 and a record eighth Gold Star title, Team BRM will head into the 2022 S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship with a familiar line up.

Spearheading the three-car charge will be last year’s champion Joey Mawson in the #1 TEAM FORM 700/ALABAR car.

After winning the first domestic title in his career, Mawson will be looking to go back-to-back and be the first driver to win the title twice since Simon Wills won consecutive Gold Stars in 1999 and 2000.

“I want to thank Form 700, ALABAR and my partners who have jumped on board for this upcoming season,” Mawson said.

“We had such an incredible season last year and returning for a second season gives us a chance to build on what we started and keep pushing harder. We want to defend our championship.

“The championship is so competitive and there’s some new names and faces who are going to be a tough ask to beat, but I know I’ve got the team to do it.

“The new livery looks incredible and I can’t wait to get back behind the wheel at Symmons Plains, where we had success in 2021.”

Joining Mawson at Team BRM this year will be the returning Kiwi young gun, Kaleb Ngatoa, while a yet to be confirmed third entry for the season will also be announced soon.

Having made his debut in the last year’s second round, Ngatoa enjoyed plenty of success of his own in the latter stages of his rookie season with race wins at Sandown and Sydney Motorsport Park.

The youngster will also contest the US Formula 4 Championship where the S5000 calendar allows, before returning to Australia.

“I can’t wait to get back out to Australia and go racing,” Ngatoa said.

“I learned so much last year and I’ve been working hard to put together the deal to go back, but for the full championship. The cars are great and I am eager to continue the learning process I began last year with BRM and hopefully translate that into a very competitive season.”

Photos: Australian Racing Group

With Mawson and Ngatoa already locked in and another driver announcement coming shortly, Team BRM Team Manager Mark Rundle was excited for another big year.

“It’s great to lock in Joey, Form 700 and ALABAR for another season,” Rundle said.

“To win our seventh Australian Drivers’ Championship and Gold Star in the first year of S5000 was one of the highlights in our history as a team – but to chase a back-to-back title is even more exciting for us. Joey fits in brilliantly with our team – he’s a great guy, a superb driver and to have the opportunity to challenge for another title with him is excellent.

“We’ll have a surprise in the second Form 700 / ALABAR car for Tasmania that we’re looking forward to unveiling.

“What Kaleb did last season with such limited experience of both the car and the circuits was really very impressive, particularly at Philip Island where he had never driven on the circuit prior to qualifying.

“To win races against seasoned competitors like Joey Mawson and James Golding was impressive and with his additional time racing in the United States behind him, we are certainly confident Kaleb can be in contention for race wins and if he can do that he’ll be a championship challenger.”

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship’s first appearance at the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships will be at Phillip Island on 18-20 March.