Evo goes for six

The Pro-Duct Mitsubishi Evo of Bob Pearson and co-driver Rick Bates is on a hot streak after an amazing six straight-wins.

The duo claimed yet another pair of wins in the two races at Queensland Raceway in the Australian Production Car Series on the weekend.

Pearson and Bates crossed the line ahead of the BMW 1M of Beric Lynton and Tim Leahy in what was a close race to the finish, while crowd-favourites Chaz Mostert and Nathan Morcom finished third.

“Bob set it up in the first stint and did well before coming in as planned, we just did the one tyre, as yesterday [Saturday] our tyres looked reasonable so we gambled on doing just the one,” Bates said.

“I went out with a reasonable lead and just managed it, taking it easy.

“If there was a safety car, we would have just pushed a bit harder.

“Bob did a good job, the crew did a good job, I just had to bring it home, which was pretty easy.”

A brilliant start from Pearson off the line replicated his performance during the ‘Fight in the Night’ race,  however he was reeled in on the long back-straight of the Ipswich circuit, with Iain Sherrin’s M4 passing the Evo.

Sherrin would lead until the Zagame Autosport Safety Car was called on Lap 7, with confusion seeing Sherrin black-flagged for passing a vehicle under yellow. Once the penalty was served, Sherrin rejoined the race in fifth, while Lynton led the field from Pearson, Rod Salmon and Morcom.

Strategy also backfired for the Sherrin Racing team, with two stops proving one too many without a second safety car period.

Pit strategy proved to be the difference for the Evo, with Bates hopping in and ultimately claiming the race lead.

Rounding out the top five for Sunday’s race was the Class A2 winning BMW E92 M3 of Jim Pollicina and Gerry Murphy.

Taking out the other class wins were the BMW 135i of Michael Sherrin and Stephen Champion (B1, 7th outright), the Renault Megane of Hadrian Morrall and Colin Osborne (C, 8th outright), the Ford Falcon AU Saloon Car of Lindsay Kearns and Scott Green (I, 12th outright), the Toyota 86 of Troy Rolley and Michael James (D, 15th outright), the Holden Commodore SSV of Jeff Nielsen and Troy Williams (B2, 19th outright) and the Suzuki Swift of Michael Hopp and Ryan Epa (E, 20th outright).

The Australian Production Car Series will now prepare for their penultimate round of the series at Phillip Island in September.