Commodore return headlines TCM Winton return

New and returning faces will add more spice to the Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters field when it returns to racing at Winton Motor Raceway this week.

Following a lengthy break from the opening two rounds of the series in February and early March, the TCM grid returns to Winton for the first time since 2019 with a strong field and some interesting new additions.

Chief among them will be former TCM race winner Adam Garwood, who makes his return to the category driving the now-ex Ryan McLeod Holden Commodore VB.

The car is a proven top-five runner in previous seasons, with Garwood a multiple race winner both while driving for his own family-backed team and also for Whiteline Racing.

Bullet Trailers Racing Ford Falcon XY Falcon GTHO racer John Adams makes his first start of the year, while Victorian Dave Hender returns in his similar Falcon.

Ian Price, who thrilled fans in Newcastle with his three-wheeling Ford Escort RS, will also return to give blue oval fans an added dose of fun.

SNB Berryman Racing’s Warren Trewin, the 2022 Pro-Sports class champion, will also make his first start of the year aboard his stunning HQ Monaro GTS 350.

Geoff Fane and Adam Bressington remain aboard the pair of Whiteline Racing Camaros, as they were in Newcastle last time out.

Winton will mark the half-way point of the TCM series with Steven Johnson leading Ryan Hansford by 44 points following a dominant start to the season aboard his Ford Mustang.

Winton has been Torana territory in the past, giving Hansford hope that this weekend will be an opportunity to haul in the points margin.

Marcus Zukanovic sits third in the championship with Cameron Tilley (Valiant Pacer) and Andrew Fisher rounding out the top five.

John Bowe, who will likely make his final TCM start at the iconic Victorian venue, is a former winner at Winton and sits sixth in the series following two rounds.

Hi-Tec Oils Race Winton will be broadcast live and ad-free via Stan Sport, with Saturday’s coverage on take place from 11:00am to 5:00pm AEST, while 9Gem will showcase the series live and free from 2pm AEST. Sunday’s Stan Sport coverage will start from 9:30am and will conclude at 5:00pm.

Tickets to the event can be purchased via motorsporttickets.com.au with plenty of ticketing options available.

The Shannons SpeedSeries’ Hi-Tec Oils Race Winton takes place at Winton Raceway on 9-11 June.

Image: Daniel Kalisz


2 Garwood Racing Adam Garwood VIC Holden Commodore
3 Western General Body works Danny Buzadzic VIC Holden Torana A9X
6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford Qld Holden Torana A9X
12 Depulu Wheel Reconditioners Gold Coast Peter Burnitt QLD Holden Torana A9X
15 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW Holden Torana A9X
18 Rare Spares /PAYNTER DIXON /Local Legends John Bowe VIC Holden Torana SL/R 5000
33 Hancock Racing Steven Johnson QLD Ford Mustang Trans Am
53 Pearcedale Plant Hire/Move myLoad Dave Hender VIC Ford Falcon XY GT HO
55 Bullet Trailers Racing John Adams Thai Ford Falcon XY GT
60 Anglomoil Superior Lubricants Cameron Tilley NSW Valiant Pacer
70 High Performance Motorsport Ian Price NSW Ford Escort Mk II
71 R&J Batteries/Action Motor Industries Marcus Zukanovic VIC Ford Falcon XD
77 SNB Berryman Racing Warren Trewin VIC Holden HQ Monaro
85 Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTI Insurance Geoff Fane QLD Chevrolet Camaro SS
88 TIFS Third Party Logistics Tony Karanfilovski NSW Ford Mustang Trans Am
95 Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTI Insurance Adam Bressington QLD Chevrolet Camaro RS