Bathurst International: Sunday wrap

Kumho TCR World Tour and Supercheap Auto TCR Australia

Race 2

The combined international category put on a show in the second race of the weekend, with Hungarian Norbert Michelisz claiming the top step of the podium ahead of Australian, Aaron Cameron.  

The reverse grid format saw Cameron take the lead off the line, holding off a rapid Michelisz before the latter eventually made his way past to cruise to a three second victory.  

Thed Björk rounded out the top three in a drama filled race, with both title races seeing major shakeups and resulting new series leaders.  

Race 3

The final race of TCR World Tour’s visit down under went to Frenchman Yann Ehrlacher, as he led a Cyan Racing Lynk & Co one-two ahead of Thed Bjork.

Rounding out the podium was Rob Huff after the race finished under safety car conditions when Santiago Urrutia hit the wall, before Mikel Azcona  crashed during the safety car intervention and. extending the period.

The result also saw Josh Buchan secure the 2023 TCR Australia title ahead of HMO Customer Racing Hyundai teammate, Bailey Sweeny while the other contender, Aaron Cameron unfortunately retired mid-race, leaving 2022 champion Tony D’Alberto to finish third for the season.

Photos: Daniel Kalisz Photographer

National Trans Am Series

Race 2

Race two of the National Trans Am Series was declared as a non-event after a lap two incident involving Josh Thomas required a lengthy recovery.

Thomas found himself in the wall at the top of the mountain, with the safety car immediately being called.

While they were able to safely recover the damaged TFH Hire Services Ford Mustang, it was clear a further cleanup was required – resulting in a red flag.

Race 3

James Moffat went on t secure the 2023 title in dramatic fashion, with a 14th place finish ultimately enough to pip teammate Lochie Dalton.

Dalton was caught up in an early incident that forced a safety car intervention, where on the restart, Moffat’s Mustang had smoke coming out of the rear.

Moffat made it to the pits, with his team getting him back out to finish the race and claim the title.

In the end, Tom Hayman claimed an impressive race win under safety car conditions, with Elliot Cleary and Brett Holdsworth rounding out the podium places.

 Photo: Pace Images

Kumho V8 Touring Car Series

Race 2

Cameron McLeod continued to enjoy his category debut, taking the second win of the weekend ahead of Jude Bargwanna.

McLeod got the jump at the start of the race and was aided by a long safety car period which led to a one lap dash, where he was able to hold on.

The second-place finish ensured Bargwanna would become the champion-elect, holding off a late charge from third place Ryan Simpson.

Race 3

An exciting race from start to finish saw Cameron McLeod complete a clean sweep of race wins at Mount Panorama, despite a five-second penalty at the start of the race.

McLeod stalled on the line and then received a penalty for a jump start, but would not only chase down the leading Jude Bargwanna, but also extend his lead to more than five seconds to secure the win.

Rounding out the top three was Ryan Simpson, who got the position after making a move on fourth-place Ray Hislop.

Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters

Race 2

Marcus Zukanovic backed up his Saturday efforts by taking yet another victory in race two, with plenty of action happening throughout the field.

Zukanovic then led from lights out to the chequered flag, but it was the race for the remaining podium positions that stole the headlines, with Ryan Hansford charging to second place, while John Bowe pulled off a fantastic move on the final corner to pip Cameron Tilley.

Race 3

Ryan Hansford has prevented a Marcus Zukanovic clean sweep with victory in the third and final race of the weekend.

Zukanovic held the lead off the line and was able to fend off the early pressure from Hansford, before the latter made the move a little later on to win by just under one second.

Rounding out the top three was John Bowe, who farewelled the mountain in TCM in fashion with a race, and round podium.

Mobil 1 Australian Production Cars and Monochrome Invited Australia

Race 3

Tim Leahey kicked off Sunday’s action with a victory in a safety car affected race, crossing the line ahead of series leader Shane Smollen.

Karl Begg held the race lead in the early stages, but ultimately fell down the order and had to settle for third place.

Iain Salteri was the winner of the APC class, picking up his first victory of the weekend ahead of Iain and Grant Sherrin.

Race 4

Another race win for Tim Leahey secured the weekend clean sweep, but this time , he had to work his way back through the leading pack after a poor start.

Series leader, Shane Smollen would take the lead but then dropped back to finish fourth, with Karl Begg and Adam Garwood making their way through to make up the remaining podium places.

Iain Sherrin returned to the top step of the podium in APC, with Simon Hodges following in second ahead of Grant Sherrin.